need help from Working Photographers.....
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > PhotoCamel Lounge > OT: Off-topic

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2005   #1
Alpaca

CamelKarma: 11
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default need help from Working Photographers.....

Hi. I'm a photography student here in Ohio at Ohio Institute of Photography. I am working on getting a grant to help me pay for my schooling, etc, and I was informed that I need 3 "interviews" from working professional photographers by January 3rd. If any WORKING full time photographers would fill out these questions for me I would be so grateful. I don't have much time and most of the photographers in this area don't like to help OIP students because they see us as competition. I've called a few and gotten no's. I'm at the end of my rope here.

Here are the questions:

1. How did you get started in the field?
2. What do you like best about your job or field?
3. What is the best way for me to get started?
4. What kind of skills and ablilities would I need to do this work?
5. What are the educational or training requirements?
6. What are your duties in a typical day?
7. How do people advance? What is the career path in your organization?
8. Is there a demand for this type of work in this locale?
9. What is the salary range for entry level positions?
10. What are the typical benefits offered by companies who employ photographers?
11. What is the turnover for this type of work?
12. Do you have any idea of the demand for this type of work?
13. Could you refer me to others who can give me additional information about this occupation?
14. Are there suggestions, recommendations, or advice you can give me concerning this occupation?