510 SHQ, HQ, SQ
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Olympus

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2008   #1
Vicuna
 
Vjim's Avatar
 
Location: Kingston, New YORK
Posts: 76
CamelKarma: 49
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default 510 SHQ, HQ, SQ

Hi,
I'm playing with my new 510; is there much of a difference between SHQ, HQ and SQ, if you use low compression; I'm asking because I would like to use SQ to shoot at 7.7MP rather than the 10MP; I'm following Ken Rockwell's feeling that shooting with a slightly lower MP produces a better Image; It's OK to tell me I'm crazy, but it worked on my Panasonic TZ3, with the Leica lens. Thanks !


Love,
Vjim

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
Vjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009   #2
Vicuna
 
Location: Liverpool, England
Posts: 78
CamelKarma: 186
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 510 SHQ, HQ, SQ

I know it's an old thread, but is there an answer to this question in another thread, because I would appreciate any help to improve my efforts.
Thanks,
Tony
Woodlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009   #3
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Administrator
 
Mr. Pickles's Avatar
 
Location: Old Folks Home
Posts: 23,276
CamelKarma: 6968994
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 510 SHQ, HQ, SQ

Not sure of the answer. When I messed with the JPG compressions long ago, there was a nice difference when viewed at 100% on screen. Printing 4x6 images probably would net no noticeable difference. Posting 800 pixel wide images on screen probably wouldn't either.

Not sure Rockwell is right. But I don't know all his criteria. Also not sure if it applies in regards to Nikons or other, where the lens itself might be a factor in his thoughts.

I'd say, you need to run your own battery of test and see for yourself.
__________________
Olympus Full-time User
Olympus Passion Magazine
Idiot Savant AND trouble-maker...

PhotoCamel Helpful Info....
Posting Images Tutorial ... Posting and Critiquing? ... What's Camel Karma?
Mr. Pickles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009   #4
Vicuna
 
Location: Liverpool, England
Posts: 78
CamelKarma: 186
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 510 SHQ, HQ, SQ

Thanks again for replying. I don't know enough about degradation in the various image formats to make a comment. But I appreciate your answer.
Tony
Woodlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009   #5
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Administrator
 
Mr. Pickles's Avatar
 
Location: Old Folks Home
Posts: 23,276
CamelKarma: 6968994
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 510 SHQ, HQ, SQ

When you compress the image, you are basically "throwing away data". That data isn't actual pixels, but it sort of is. The pixel data is "deleted" and when "re-opened" those pixels may contain a different color than did, and will be replaced by the color of their neighboring pixels. So in essence, what you lose is some gradual color changes, and what you end up with is sharp color "banding".
__________________
Olympus Full-time User
Olympus Passion Magazine
Idiot Savant AND trouble-maker...

PhotoCamel Helpful Info....
Posting Images Tutorial ... Posting and Critiquing? ... What's Camel Karma?
Mr. Pickles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009   #6
Dromedary
 
Mike_PEAT's Avatar
 
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,242
CamelKarma: 2891
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 510 SHQ, HQ, SQ

While I do use JEPG (SHQ), I'm kinda bothered by resizing in the camera that can't be undone; then again there are many people who say the same thing about using JPEG and only shoot in RAW.

Do what you feel comfortable with.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
Mike_PEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Olympus »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1 question about the 510 rjones315 Olympus 4 06-03-2008 07:54 AM
Help needed for E-510.... jan56 Olympus 5 07-08-2007 03:47 AM
E-510 Test Images Maddogmd11 Olympus 5 05-31-2007 04:35 PM
E-410, E-510, and P-1? Mr. Pickles Olympus 1 05-04-2007 09:47 AM
Louis: On e-510 IS.... Raist3d Olympus 9 04-13-2007 10:02 PM