Lens advice
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Nikon

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2006   #1
Vicuna

CamelKarma: 862
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Lens advice

ok I'm rather new to photography, have a 18-55mm dx and a 50mm 1.8Af d.

I'm mainly into concert shooting but I do dabble into sports a bit and landscape(I'm travelling for the summer)

I'm on a budget(second hand lens it looks like) bout 200-300 dollars max.

I don't know if wide angle or telephoto is what i want. For what my needs are could some reccommend me suitable options, I'm really lost

Old 05-07-2006   #2
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath

CamelKarma: 1099193
Editing OK?: No
Default Re: Lens advice

I think the only real option for telephoto is the 70-300mm f/4-5.6G Nikkor, which runs about $100-150. I have to get going now, but I'll get you some samples and more information sometime later- i.e. tommorrow afternoon. This was my primary long lens for quite a while, and it actually performed quite well.
Old 05-07-2006   #3
Vicuna

indeed thats the lens that was on my list, I like the idea of wide angle but i think telephoto would be more usuable, especially on my travels...oh i wish i was rich
MeleKalikimaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006   #4
F1 Camel

CamelKarma: 1439

Don't we all wish we were rich.

I have the sad choice of trying to decide between two fine lenses.

More and more I'm considering the 200 f/2.0 AF-S VR over the 300 f/2.8 AF-S VR.

Not just because the 200 f/2 is $3,700 after rebate, and the 300 f/2.8 is $4,500