Breaking into digital MF
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Medium and Large Format

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2013   #1
Llama

CamelKarma: 105
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Breaking into digital MF

HI
I'm considering trying digital medium format, but as I've never done medium format before I don't have a great budget for it.
Can anyone suggest a low cost 'startup' option?

Canon 5D, Canon 5DSr, Canon 16-35 mm f/4 L USM EF, Canon 24-105 f/4.0 L USM IS EF, Tamron SP 24-70mm F/2.8 Di VC USD, Canon 70-200 f2.8 L MK II USM IS EF, Canon 100mm f2.8 USM EF macro, Canon 2x Mk III converter, Canon 580 EX II flash, Yonghuo 568EX II flash, Sigma EM-140 DG EO-ETTL Macro Flash, Manfrotto MT055CXPRO3 tripod with MHXPRO-BHQ2 ballhead. Manfrotto 790B Monopod.
boristhemoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013   #2
F1 Camel

CamelKarma: 497479
Default Re: Breaking into digital MF

There isn't such as thing as low-cost digital medium format. If you go with pretty ancient equipment, you're better and cheaper off with a Nikon D800 or similar.

If you really just want to try t out, renting a Hasselblad or similar will be the cheapest.

If you love medium format and have little budget, consider getting a decent scanner and using film. There you get full sets of professional grade equipment for less than a new high-end digital body. Depending on what kind of things you photograph, you also might consider large format photography with film too.

Korman
korman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013   #3
Photocamel Master

CamelKarma: 5188665
Editing OK?: Ask First