Some pointers?
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Lighting Technique

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2008   #1
Alpaca

CamelKarma: 24
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Some pointers?

I am still fairly new here.....this is only my 18th post (I believe). However, I have been enjoying reading many posts here, and in other PC forums, for a few months now.

I am still fairly new at commercial photography, but I find that I am drawn to it more and more. I am self-taught and my strongest motivation is an overall passion for photography.

My lighting equipment currently consists of one AlienBees 800 strobe (320 WS), with octobox; one Porta Master 400 (approx. 300WS), with umbrella; one Sunpak 383 flash w/tripod mounting; two 42" x 78" panels with diffusion and reflection materials; one 42" circular combo diffuser/reflector; one 30" x 40" homemade reflector (-inch foamcore with crushed aluminum foil on one side, and white surface on the other). I also have 3 Pocket Wizards for firing the two strobes, and a cable for triggering the Sunpak flash.

There is probably other stuff, but this is the gist of my lighting gear. So, now that I have set the stage, I was wondering (hoping) if some of you more experienced shooters could maybe offer some pointers on how best to set my lighting.?. Here is the situation:

I am anticipating getting the contract to shoot the inventory for a high-end officer furniture company's branch office and salesroom. The pictures are needed for their catalog, as well as other printed materials, and for their website.