Salmon (Red-Orange ) cast photos
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Lighting Technique

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2007   #1
Alpaca

CamelKarma: 30
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Salmon (Red-Orange ) cast photos

HEEELP!! I AM A BEGINNER PHOTOGRAPHER AND AM TRYING TO TAKE PICTURES IN MY DAUGHTERS BEDROOM, I HAVE 2-1000 WATTS CONTINUOUS LIGHTS WITH 1-250 WATT HAIR LIGHT AND A NIKON D50 CAMERA SET ON AUTO,APERATURE,SHUTTER THESE SETTINGS TO SEE IF IT WAS MY PROBLEM.THE PROBLEM IS WHEN I USE THE ABOVE SETTINGS MY PICTURES CAME OUT A SALMON,RED-ORANGE COLOR. I WAS TOLD THAT I NEED A PRESET SELECTOR FOR COLOR. PLEASE CAN SOMEONE EXPLAIN IN LAYMANS TERM WHAT THAT IS AND HOW DOES IT WORK AND IF INDEED THAT SOUNDS LIKE WHAT I NEED? I EVEN CHANGED MY WHITE BALANCE TO FLOURESENT,FLASH,INDESCSESENT,ETC.IF COULD JUST GET MY PHOTOS TO LOOK LIKE MY DAUGHTER'S SCHOOL PICTURES THEN I KNOW IM GETTING SOMEWHERE.

fosheezy39@sbcglobal.net

Old 12-18-2007   #2
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Administrator

CamelKarma: 6968994
Editing OK?: Ask First
Default Re: Salmon (Red-Orange ) cast photos

You need to shoot a "gray card" with the subject and using post processing tools, pick the gray card as the WB selection and all should pop back close.

Even better would be something like a Whi-Bal card, which comes in different sizes that have a black, white, and gray portion to them. You use all three in something like Levels with the 3 eyedroppers and all your casts should go away.

Shooting with mixed lighting can be trickey, so you might not get a one-click solution either.

Google the gray card and/or Whi-Bal. Gray cards can be cheap. Whi-Bal is an actual product and runs anywhere from $30 to $100.

PhotoCamel Helpful Info....