Help with Canon 430 EX speedlite
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Lighting Technique

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2007   #1
Vicuna

CamelKarma: 177
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Help with Canon 430 EX speedlite

I'm going to be shooting in a dimly lit church using my canon Rebel, with my 430EX Speedlite, using the Gary fong diffuser.

I took some test shots yesterday, using the camera in program mode. The flash seems to be more than I'm looking for because there were some hard shadows on the wall behind the subjects, which was at least 10 feet behind them. HOw do I turn down the power to the flash? Is that possible? I'm new to this flash and need help getting the right settings. I just don't like that hard shadow, and it seems that they''re far away enough from the wall that it shouldn't get that hard shadow unless the flash is just too strong.

I need help before tonight!!!!

Photomom

Old 05-25-2007   #2
F1 Camel

CamelKarma: 104888
Default Re: Help with Canon 430 EX speedlite

Show us the pictures and be as detailed as possible about the site conditions size, ceiling height etc if you want any meaningful info.
kgphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007   #3
Vicuna

Sorry, I don't have the photos available to send. They're on my computer at home.
The ceiling height is probably 40 feet (vaulted ceiling) so I can't bounce effectively. (Yellow lighting). I'm probably standing 30 feet from the subjects, they're probably 15-20 feet from the wall.
I'm new owner of the 430 EX speedlite and haven't played with the settings.