Another Lighting "Kit" question..
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Lighting Technique

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2007   #1
Alpaca

CamelKarma: 97
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Another Lighting "Kit" question..

I am just about to come into a few lights and was wondering what you thought of them... I am an absolute lighting beginner and these are mildly used and new lights. I want them primarily for adding some light when shooting in someone's house and for the occasional event (ie: Party)
The lights are: 1 White Lightening Zap 1000, 1 Studio Pro 150 and 1 Studio Pro 920MDLVP. Both the SP150 and SP920 have softboxes..... and the 150 as has an umbrella.
What do you think of these? Do they work/behave well together? I also own a Nikon D50 with SB-800...... Another question I have... would I use the SB800 on the camera with lights in this setup and if so, what mode and settings would I use? If I don't, how would I trigger the lights when the shutter is pressed?

Thx for putting up with the newbie questions....!!

Old 02-25-2007   #2
Llama

CamelKarma: 19072
Default Re: Another Lighting "Kit" question..

Quote:
Originally Posted by pesto126 View Post
I am just about to come into a few lights and was wondering what you thought of them... I am an absolute lighting beginner and these are mildly used and new lights. I want them primarily for adding some light when shooting in someone's house and for the occasional event (ie: Party)
The lights are: 1 White Lightening Zap 1000, 1 Studio Pro 150 and 1 Studio Pro 920MDLVP. Both the SP150 and SP920 have softboxes..... and the 150 as has an umbrella.