Sekonic Pre Flash question
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Lighting Technique

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2015   #1
Alpaca
 
Posts: 2
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Sekonic Pre Flash question

Heres' my problem. I'm using a Sekonic L-358 and Nikon SB-700 triggered by Yongnuo 622N by 622TX. To control the power output to the 700 with the 622n, the 700 HAS to be in TTL mode with the 622TX in Manual Mode. Anytime the SB-700 is in TTL it issues a pre-flash, therefore not allowing the L358 to measure the actual exposure and displaying the EU error message.Is there a way around this problem? Thanks.

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
Grand Capture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015   #2
F1 Camel
 
Sailor Blue's Avatar
 
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 4,140
CamelKarma: 227845
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Sekonic Pre Flash question

Not the answer you want but this should work.

Use the SB700 in S4 mode and adjust the power manually on the flash itself. That way the YN-622 will be acting like a dumb trigger such as the RF-603s.
__________________
--Don--

Canon 7D, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II, Tamron SP AF28-75mm F/2.8 XR Di, Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM, Tamron SP 90MM F/2.8 Di 1:1 Macro
Nissin Di866, Electra CLASSIC Plus studio strobes & modifiers
Sekonic L-358 Flash Meter, Yongnuo RF-602 Transmitters & Receivers
Dell 20" 2001F (1200x1800) IPS monitor, Samsung SyncMaster 23" F2380 (1920x1280) PVA monitor, Datacolor Spyder3Elite for monitor calibration
Sailor Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015   #3
Alpaca
 
Posts: 2
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Sekonic Pre Flash question

Thanks Sailor, great suggestion. Not such a big deal to do that, just wondered if there were work around.

Peace
Grand Capture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015   #4
F1 Camel
 
Golem's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,791
CamelKarma: 683702
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Sekonic Pre Flash question

Not sure this will work but maybe ....

Try partly blinding the cell on the Sekonik in
hopes that you find the threshold where the
preflash is too week to be read by it, but the
main flash is still strong enuf. You'll need to
use the same gel or screen all the time, cuz
you need to do a bit of testing [in manual
modes] to establish how many stops the gel
is worth, as that factor hasta be applied to
any reading made with the gel [or else you
get that number of stops overexposure].

I don't know your exact flash, but the above
requires that the preflash be rather weak as
compared to an actual exposure flash. If the
pre is rather powerful, the above is no-go.
Golem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016   #5
Alpaca
 
Posts: 1
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Sekonic Pre Flash question

I have been having problems with my Sekonic L-758DR, the meter works fine in ambient & spot metering but whenever*I set the meter to any of the flash modes I get the blinking Eu display, I have been in touch with Sekonic several times & have been told it looks like it could be*that the Photocell had gone, I contacted Sekonic UK who have offered a repair, I was about to package the meter ready for posting when I discovered the strangest thing, I was sat in my living room playing around with the meter & noticed the Eu warning didn't come on, thinking the fault was intermittent I went into the room I use as a small studio, as soon as walked through the door I got the blinking Eu error again, walked out of the room, reset the meter & it stopped again, went back into my studio, reset again & there it was again, then it hit me, I had just changed all ambient lighting in my studio to white LED lights, including the modeling lamps in my flash heads, just to confirm this was the cause I left the studio room & went into a room with normal lighting, no blinking Eu, took my LED torch & shone it onto the lumisphere, pressed the set botton & there it was, blinking Eu again.

Now I have discovered what the cause is I searched the problem in google I have noticed others are having the same issue, it looks like this is not caused by a*faulty or broken photocell, it would appear that Sekonic*hadn't anticipated the use of LED lighting in photography studios.

I very much doubt this issue can be resolved with firmware updates, if that is the case then the Sekonic L-758DR is pretty much useless to anyone using LED lighting*in their studios.
bohemian100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016   #6
F1 Camel
 
Golem's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,791
CamelKarma: 683702
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Sekonic Pre Flash question

Flash meters are designed for studio flash.

Using TTL systems, "smart" flashes, etc is
often going to confuse them. A normal set
of studio flashes will dip its modeling light
during exposure, so even LED modeling
lights won't be a problem. The problem is
typical of using flash meters with systems
they're just not intended for. Why are you
trying to use it like that ?

---------------------------------------------

I'm forever puzzled why folks use a meter
with TTL "smart" auto systems . Any digital
camera is a better flash meter than a hand
held separate flash meter. Your flash meter
can read out exposure recommendations,
but can it actually display a sample image ?
Nooooo ....

Even when we routinely used flash meters
[with film], we'd also run a whole mess of
[expensive] Polaroid tests. I've got 3 or 4
very fine flash meters sitting idle, as they
don't compare to using my compact digital
camera as a flash meter and also as a life
time supply of free Polaroid film
Golem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017   #7
Alpaca
 
Posts: 49
CamelKarma: 22
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Sekonic Pre Flash question

If I'm understanding you correctly your trying to measure a ttl flash why?
Circle_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017   #8
F1 Camel
 
gryphonslair99's Avatar
 
Location: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Posts: 3,650
CamelKarma: 1091466
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Sekonic Pre Flash question

Considering that the question is two years old and they op hasn't been seen in that long I doubt you will get an answer.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
Amateurs worry about equipment, professionals worry about time, masters worry about light.

I can honestly say that there are two most remarkable men in the world today. Michio Kaku is one and I am the other one. Between us we cover all knowledge.

Kaku knows all that can be known....And I know the rest.


"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery. Today?
Today is a gift. That is why we call it the present."

Master Oogway from Kung Fu Panda
gryphonslair99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Lighting Technique »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes