How difficult is studio lighting? - Page 2
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Lighting Technique

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2007   #11
Guanaco
 
keithallenlaw's Avatar
 
Location: S.E.M.O
Posts: 311
CamelKarma: 67
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: How difficult is studio lighting?

[quote=J.A.F. Doorhof;158563]Av will never work because it measures the modellight and not the flash.

Are you sure about that?

Here...check this out. Scroll about 1/2 way down, just past the 2nd yellow. If anyone knows flash this is the guy to take advice from. He has worked with one of the best
wedding photographer in the world.

Canon 580ex Exposure Control

[snip]

Aperture impacts the depth of field (DOF) and amount of flash which is needed and should be controlled by the photographer not the camera, so do not use P or Tv on the camera when using flash There are exceptions of course, but sticking with M and Av will simplify the learning process.
__________________
You can find me here: http://www.pbase.com/keithallenlaw


keithallenlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007   #12
Dromedary
 
Latinbob's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,277
CamelKarma: 788
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: How difficult is studio lighting?

Keith,

That link you provided is talking about on-camera flash. Frank is talking about studio strobes. Strobes don't get any information from the camera except when to fire, so manual is the way to go.

Bob
Latinbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007   #13
Bactrian
 
J.A.F. Doorhof's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,034
CamelKarma: 9005
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: How difficult is studio lighting?

Correct,
With camera flashes I always use AV or sometimes manual.
With studio strobes this won't work because there is no talkback to the camera as mentioned by Bob.
J.A.F. Doorhof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007   #14
Guanaco
 
keithallenlaw's Avatar
 
Location: S.E.M.O
Posts: 311
CamelKarma: 67
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: How difficult is studio lighting?

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.A.F. Doorhof View Post
Correct,
With camera flashes I always use AV or sometimes manual.
With studio strobes this won't work because there is no talkback to the camera as mentioned by Bob.
Sorry JAF, my misunderstanding.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
You can find me here: http://www.pbase.com/keithallenlaw


keithallenlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Lighting Technique »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Studio Portrait Lighting-A How To Benji Tutorials 97 12-23-2015 12:01 PM
Studio Lighting setup Mark McCall Lighting Technique 11 06-26-2007 09:39 AM
Studio Lighting Template rsmall Lighting Technique 3 03-23-2007 11:38 PM
Studio Lighting shmspac Lighting Technique 2 06-24-2006 11:03 AM