Photoflex LiteDome
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Lighting Technique

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2007   #1
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Photoflex LiteDome

Has anybody tried this softbox, it's for shoe mounted flashes.

The above is a kit but you can buy the softbox alone for something like $45. It also comes in 3 different sizes. Seen the results from it somewhere and they look really good.

Do you have any experience with it, and what's your impression.

Thanks

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
It's all about light, my friend.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007   #2
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoflex LiteDome

Notice the size...12 x 16 x 9 in (30 x 40 x 23 cm). That's pretty portable, thought it's the extra small one.

Also notice the price ($130) that's a very good price for a kit like that imo.
__________________
It's all about light, my friend.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007   #3
F1 Camel
 
harryd's Avatar
 
Location: Eldorado IL
Posts: 3,196
CamelKarma: 151938
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoflex LiteDome

Hi, I have one but have little knowledge in using it. My only attempt went ok but if you want to see some great work go here: http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/re...ssage=20457760
He is the one who inspired me to get one, he has several different threads on his on that site and he is a fantastic photographer. Hope this helps.
__________________

http://pbase.com/harrydavid
Amateur having fun! Feel free to edit any of my images.
harryd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007   #4
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoflex LiteDome

Funny you that you mentioned it, Harry. I was referring to that person in DPR when I said I've seen the results somewhere. And his work is what's making me interested in that kit. I doubt I'll get anywhere near his quality though

So tell us please about your impression, and is it possible to see some of your work from that setup.
__________________
It's all about light, my friend.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007   #5
F1 Camel
 
harryd's Avatar
 
Location: Eldorado IL
Posts: 3,196
CamelKarma: 151938
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoflex LiteDome

I can tell you it was a pain to put it together, but then again I had never put a softbox together . I have only tried it out one time, I was using a Canon 20D and 580 flash, you will need the Adjustable Shoe Mount Connector to hook the flash and the softbox together. This is a shot of my nephew who let me try it out on him, this was the first time I tried using an off camera flash with a modifier so please don't base what can be done with it by my sample. In the right hands it is a cool thing.



__________________

http://pbase.com/harrydavid
Amateur having fun! Feel free to edit any of my images.
harryd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007   #6
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoflex LiteDome

Waw, if that's your first attempt then I'm definitely getting one. Excellent photo!

I have the same setup as you have (plus a 5D).

As for the headache of setting up the box, I'm thinking it's only a one time thing, right? Once setup, you can leave it as it is. Besides, it's so small one can carry it as is (is that correct).
__________________
It's all about light, my friend.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007   #7
F1 Camel
 
harryd's Avatar
 
Location: Eldorado IL
Posts: 3,196
CamelKarma: 151938
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoflex LiteDome

Yes, I set mine up and left it, I hope you love it. Be sure to show us what you can do with it.
__________________

http://pbase.com/harrydavid
Amateur having fun! Feel free to edit any of my images.
harryd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007   #8
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoflex LiteDome

Sure will.

What size did you get Harry, and do you recommend that size (or something bigger/smaller). Also, and this is probably a silly question, can you mount it on a monopod too (I'm sure you can).
__________________
It's all about light, my friend.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007   #9
F1 Camel
 
harryd's Avatar
 
Location: Eldorado IL
Posts: 3,196
CamelKarma: 151938
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoflex LiteDome

I got the Q39 like the one you posted, I have not tried any other sizes so sorry I cant help you.
__________________

http://pbase.com/harrydavid
Amateur having fun! Feel free to edit any of my images.
harryd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007   #10
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoflex LiteDome

Last question, if I may.

I asked this question as you were typing:

"Also, and this is probably a silly question, can you mount it on a monopod too (I'm sure you can)."


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
It's all about light, my friend.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Lighting Technique »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes