New to lighting/ need help
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Lighting Technique

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2006   #1
Vicuna

CamelKarma: 2689
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default New to lighting/ need help

I'm new to studio attempt photography and new to this forum.* I'm hoping to get some feedback on my set up

I just bought this house and until I finish the basement I was hoping to do some studio work.* It is a 1500 sq ft room so the possibilities are endless.* I'm looking at doing full body shots.* I have foamcore nailed to the 8' ceiling for now.* Using a D50 with SB800 attached to camera(waiting for SC-29 cord to arrive soon). Sb600 attached to 42" silver umbrella,* 42" square silver reflector, 32" white umbrella.* Attached to Sb800 I have Lumiquest softbox.* Omnibounce on the SB600.

Biggest question is what type background I should go with?* As you can see I have a queen size bed sheet pinned to the insulted wall.* Wondering if white is easier to work with?

Working with Nikon CSL* system, is there a way to control the SB600 as far as ev is concerned.* I have the SB800 working on the camera as the commander and can control flash level on it but unable to figure out how to change the SB600.* Hope that makes sense. Thanks for any help you can offer.

Old 12-06-2006   #2
Vicuna

CamelKarma: 2689
Editing OK?: Ask First
Default Re: New to lighting/ need help

Also I've seen some work done with hair lights that I really like. Just wondering what type of bulb is used for this and are they bought solely from camera shops or can they be bought anywhere?
jimD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006   #3
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath

CamelKarma: 1099193
Editing OK?: No