Softbox grid - Page 2
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Lighting Technique

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2015   #11
Alpaca
 
softboxgrid's Avatar
 
Posts: 4
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Softbox grid

Quote:
Originally Posted by trapman View Post
I've never seen barn doors for a softbox (doesn't mean they don't exist), but I think by the time you attached them, it could really amount to a lot of weight. Grids usually attach via velcro strips, and are very light in weight.
Barn doors for softbox. Trying to get the effect like a softbox BRONCOLOR Pulsoflex EM. Broncolor no longer produces this series of softboxes.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Barn_dors_Profoto_RFI_6090__1_250_web.jpg (40.0 KB, 73 views)
File Type: jpg Barn_dors_Profoto_RFI_6090_2_250_web.jpg (37.9 KB, 71 views)
__________________
Grids for softboxes - making
softboxgrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015   #12
Llama
 
Location: Victoria B.C.
Posts: 561
CamelKarma: 832527
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Softbox grid

If you ever try shooting in a smaller room with lower ceilings you will find the advantage right away.
What you will see in your images is a subject with light coming from all directions.
Add grid(s) and you get rid of most of those issues.

FWIW to guys talking about barn doors. I had my wife make up a few black fabric scrims (soft box sizes) that I clamp (little black paper clamps) to the side of a soft box...works just fine.
Adding velcro would wonders do, but lazy I am!
Crapshoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015   #13
Alpaca
 
softboxgrid's Avatar
 
Posts: 4
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Softbox grid

It is interesting to see.
I agree with you, it is absolutely necessary to have a grid on the softbox in a small studio
__________________
Grids for softboxes - making
softboxgrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016   #14
Alpaca
 
softboxgrid's Avatar
 
Posts: 4
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Softbox grid

Softbox grid & Softbox barn doors & Softbox grid + barn doors. Bowens Lumiair softbox 40x140
__________________
Grids for softboxes - making
softboxgrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016   #15
F1 Camel
 
Narsuitus's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,783
CamelKarma: 31066
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Softbox grid

Thanks Softboxgrid
Narsuitus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016   #16
Alpaca
 
softboxgrid's Avatar
 
Posts: 4
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Softbox grid

My little test. Conclusion - grids that includes in the kit to inexpensive softboxes, often have very large and small depth cell, give a minimal effect and can be considered more of a simulation grids or good marketing ploy by the manufacturer.
__________________
Grids for softboxes - making
softboxgrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2016   #17
Guanaco
 
Posts: 258
CamelKarma: 2900
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Softbox grid

Great information,thanks for sharing.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
Gerald is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Lighting Technique »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Softbox for video vs softbox for photography....? haring Lighting Technique 5 04-11-2011 09:41 AM
trying out the 10 deg. grid Jgolden Portraits 3 03-12-2010 10:04 AM