Hello to all
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > PhotoCamel Lounge > Introduce Yourself

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2019   #1
Alpaca

CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Hello to all

I'm from Tennessee, where I settled when I retired from active duty in the Army back in '93. I'll turn 70 this year, and while I was an active hobbyist back in the film era, I've been away long enough to consider myself something of a tyro in photography these days, especially due to my just not being able to get out and about very much. I've become reasonably adept with my DSLR, a Nikon d5300 with the Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 DX lens, and actually (primarily because I'm stuck at home most of the time) I've become fairly proficient at using Photoshop Elements v.15.

There's a lot to see on this site, so for the time being I'll be looking around the various forums and studying up on the do's and don'ts; I've also noticed several tutorials on procedures so they're bookmarked as well. I'll post if and when I've got something to say, and I'll say now that I'm pleased to have discovered PhotoCamel and look forward to an enjoyable association.

The subjects I like to photograph (when I'm able to do it!) include landscapes, architecture and machinery, especially trains; as a very young man I did 3 years as a road brakeman on the old Chicago & Northwestern out of the Proviso Yards in Illinois. I'm just a few miles from the Cumberland River here in Clarksville and like to shoot river traffic as well.