Nik Software
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Image Editing

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2009   #1
Alpaca

CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Nik Software

Hi all - first time posting...yay!

I am considering buying the Nik Software Complete Collection (Color Efex, Define, Viveza, Silver Efex, Sharpener) for photo editing. I am a enthusiastic amateur to slightly intermediate photographer. I own a Nikon D700 with various lenses.

I was wondering what feedback ya'll might have on the software? Is it worth $510? Pros..Cons? Any info, thoughts or suggestions are very much appreciated...

thanks!

Old 05-26-2009   #2
Guanaco

CamelKarma: 2341
Default Re: Nik Software

got the complete package as well since a month. the silver efex is the first one i am discovering now. the other will follow
Elinchrom Style RX 600 / Ranger AS Speed, Quadra AS, BX500ri
and has a lot of fun
nyschulte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009   #3
Vicuna

CamelKarma: 34
Editing OK?: Yes

I use Silver effect for B+W, I much prefer it to photoshops conversions. Wayne
swanseamale47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009   #4
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Dromedary

CamelKarma: 14503
Editing OK?: Yes

Love the ability in Silver Efex to select my own filter colors with Nik's suggestions. Also, the ability to use control points in the entire suite so you can add/subtract the effects you are looking for in specific and targeted areas.

For the money however, I do not use the entire suite enough. Great to have in the arsenal and I have favorites that i go back to, but it could be so much more.
JimH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009   #5
F1 Camel

CamelKarma: 104888