Photomatix Pro Updates & Discussion - Page 2
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 


Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Photography by Genre: Critique and Discussion > HDR (High Dynamic Range)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2012   #11
Camel Breath
 
jessea's Avatar
 
Location: FRANCE(CEVENNES/LEUCATE)
Posts: 10,263
CamelKarma: 62562653
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photomatix Pro Updates & Discussion

Josh,I compared PHOTOMATIX to SNS about water rendition and it seems that SNS is doing much better(Martin will be happy with this statement).And I understand that if you use manual deghosting,there is just one shot which is used(that you can choose),so no alignment problem for the chosen area but the trick is (for them)to fit nicely the area with its surroundings.
__________________
If I must be reincarnated, I would like it to be in a bubble of champagne which escapes from the glass of an attractive woman by caressing her lips.

Equipment: SONY alpha900,SIGMA 12-24,CARL ZEISS 24-70,SIGMA 180 mm MACRO,SONY DSC-R1
Software : DXO,DXOVIEWPOINT,SNS,PHOTOMATIX,AUTOPANO,ACDSEE PRO,GIMP

My gallery : http://www.flickr.com/photos/djeaissia/
jessea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012   #12
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
mistermonday's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,124
CamelKarma: 169270948
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photomatix Pro Updates & Discussion

Josh, this image will be a challenge for many HDR applications. There is high contrast but there are no well defined lines (like walls, linear structures, etc) in the scene. All transitions are fluid and soft/ Lens at f/5.7 also near not its sharpest. This is where the algorithm used by the HDR s/w to merge the images is the magic. I suggest you post the orig RAW files and let the various HDR apps have a go at the set and see how they perform. So far I have found that ever HDR app is good at some things and poor or deficient at other. Maybe one day we will have the ultimate app that excels at all types of scenes.
Cheers, Murray
mistermonday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012   #13
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
_Provo_'s Avatar
 
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 12,141
CamelKarma: 7324142
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photomatix Pro Updates & Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistermonday View Post
Josh, this image will be a challenge for many HDR applications. There is high contrast but there are no well defined lines (like walls, linear structures, etc) in the scene. All transitions are fluid and soft/ Lens at f/5.7 also near not its sharpest. This is where the algorithm used by the HDR s/w to merge the images is the magic. I suggest you post the orig RAW files and let the various HDR apps have a go at the set and see how they perform. So far I have found that ever HDR app is good at some things and poor or deficient at other. Maybe one day we will have the ultimate app that excels at all types of scenes.
Cheers, Murray


Murray the exif was overlooked see at the top portion of the data is shot
at f13 1/60sec ev-5 iso 100 the 5.7 is the speed range of the lens
which is f4-to 5.6 give or take can exceed to f5.7

I hear what your saying about the scene but I should've mentioned it before is not just this scene it's been happening to other set's I have tested it's weird.
BTW the new version when saving to a tiff now it will give you a full tiff and a smaller thumbnail version not sure what the thumbnail version would be useful for as windows image viewer displays tiff files natively.

I did some searching on flickr groups and others are also reporting weird alignment issues. Maybe it's a bug. Still doesn't hinder me from using photomatix I like to experiment and always welcome new software out in the market that is one of the reason's I had come across SNS and had mentioned it here before it gained popularity.
_Provo_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012   #14
Alpaca
 
Posts: 17
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photomatix Pro Updates & Discussion

I have been using it and haven't had any problem yet and have what I think are some complicated shots that really have the potential for problems
capt don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012   #15
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
mistermonday's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,124
CamelKarma: 169270948
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photomatix Pro Updates & Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Provo_ View Post
Murray the exif was overlooked see at the top portion of the data is shot
at f13 1/60sec ev-5 iso 100 the 5.7 is the speed range of the lens
which is f4-to 5.6 give or take can exceed to f5.7

I hear what your saying about the scene but I should've mentioned it before is not just this scene it's been happening to other set's I have tested it's weird.
BTW the new version when saving to a tiff now it will give you a full tiff and a smaller thumbnail version not sure what the thumbnail version would be useful for as windows image viewer displays tiff files natively.

I did some searching on flickr groups and others are also reporting weird alignment issues. Maybe it's a bug. Still doesn't hinder me from using Photomatix I like to experiment and always welcome new software out in the market that is one of the reason's I had come across SNS and had mentioned it here before it gained popularity.
Josh, If I recall correctly, Windows can not produce a thumnail of a compressed TIFF. If that is the case then that may explain why it has been added. BTW, never compress a 16 bit tiff because the file size will be much larger than an uncompressed tiff. Only 8 tiff bit files are reduced in size when compressed.
A couple of key algorithms were modified in Photomatix 4.2. The only way to tell if that is causing what you are seeing is to run version 4.1 and 4.2 on the same set of source files with the exact same settings, overlay the two in PS in difference blend mode to see for sure.
Cheers, Murray
mistermonday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012   #16
Camel Breath
 
jessea's Avatar
 
Location: FRANCE(CEVENNES/LEUCATE)
Posts: 10,263
CamelKarma: 62562653
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photomatix Pro Updates & Discussion

Josh,contact PHOTOMATIX and propose your raws so that they can check by themselves what is wrong.And the more shots you use the more difficult the alignment:try with a reduced set.Sometimes I use only 2,the most overexposed and the most underexposed and they are shot in a row with my camera,so,if there is any movement in the captured scene it's limited because of a small time range.Last,but not the least,for waves,it's best to set off you shooting when the nearest wave has just crushed and just is about to go back,so its speed is ZERO and the movement is minimal.Last tip:try SNS for the alignment with a natural preset so that you collect the whole dynamic range and then go to PHOTOMATIX for a pseudo hdr without worrying about alignment.
__________________
If I must be reincarnated, I would like it to be in a bubble of champagne which escapes from the glass of an attractive woman by caressing her lips.

Equipment: SONY alpha900,SIGMA 12-24,CARL ZEISS 24-70,SIGMA 180 mm MACRO,SONY DSC-R1
Software : DXO,DXOVIEWPOINT,SNS,PHOTOMATIX,AUTOPANO,ACDSEE PRO,GIMP

My gallery : http://www.flickr.com/photos/djeaissia/
jessea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012   #17
Camel Breath
 
Stiga's Avatar
 
Location: Nr. Perth, Scotland
Posts: 19,338
CamelKarma: 43713362
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photomatix Pro Updates & Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Provo_ View Post
I am encountering some problems with the version of photomatix especially for auto alignment
some area's are cut so bad is not even funny. I will post an image shortly to show you.
But this is only affecting auto alignment manual alignment deghosting is working really great.
Have a look at how terrible this came out the whole image is bad white balance off alignment etc..
here's what the originals look like
Josh, that's a very difficult image set to align as there are no sharp edges or points.

Martin
__________________
http://i544.photobucket.com/albums/h...ps79d51b0c.gif
http://i544.photobucket.com/albums/h...ps79d51b0c.gif
http://i544.photobucket.com/albums/h...ps79d51b0c.gif
Martin

Once photography enters your bloodstream, it is like a disease.

Software: Too numerous to list but my most used utility is ShiftN for perspective correction

Gear: Canon G12, no tripod, no lenses, no flash, no remote, no cases or bags!


Stiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012   #18
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
_Provo_'s Avatar
 
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 12,141
CamelKarma: 7324142
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photomatix Pro Updates & Discussion

I figured it out, it was because I had the original 4.1, then beta 4.2 and then the final
some of the files got corrupted LOL
_Provo_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012   #19
Vicuna
 
ElBeardo's Avatar
 
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 78
CamelKarma: 4356
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photomatix Pro Updates & Discussion

I know I am going senile but I know at one time somewhere in this forum there was a set of Photomatix Presets plus instructions on how to load them. I know that they did exist because I have some installed in Photomatix. I spent about an hour looking for the instructions last night and could not find them, did they go when the Photomatix User Group was disbanded?

Can somebody please point me to instructions on how to load a downloaded preset.

Elbeardo
__________________
Canon 7D, 10-22, 24-105, 70-200
Photoshop CS5, Photomatix 4.2, SNS-Home
ElBeardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012   #20
Camel Breath
 
Stiga's Avatar
 
Location: Nr. Perth, Scotland
Posts: 19,338
CamelKarma: 43713362
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photomatix Pro Updates & Discussion

Go to FAQ about HDR photography software Photomatix - Tone Mapping, HDR images creation and Exposure Fusion
Then go way down the page to:
How do I tranfer to Photomatix Pro version 4 my presets saved with version 3?

Martin


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
http://i544.photobucket.com/albums/h...ps79d51b0c.gif
http://i544.photobucket.com/albums/h...ps79d51b0c.gif
http://i544.photobucket.com/albums/h...ps79d51b0c.gif
Martin

Once photography enters your bloodstream, it is like a disease.

Software: Too numerous to list but my most used utility is ShiftN for perspective correction

Gear: Canon G12, no tripod, no lenses, no flash, no remote, no cases or bags!


Stiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Photography by Genre: Critique and Discussion > HDR (High Dynamic Range) »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SNS-HDR Home/Pro Updates & Discussion Stiga HDR (High Dynamic Range) 72 11-21-2013 01:36 PM
Photomatix Pro 4.0 is now available Wcube HDR (High Dynamic Range) 10 10-03-2010 08:55 PM
Photomatix Pro 3.2 Released C.A.Fields Computers and Software 3 02-08-2010 08:59 PM
Photomatix Pro 3.2 Released C.A.Fields HDR (High Dynamic Range) 8 07-17-2009 08:24 PM