M42 lenses on a FinePix S1? - Page 2
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Fuji

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2008   #11
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
Rense's Avatar
 
Location: Zwolle
Posts: 27,062
CamelKarma: 8523012
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: No
Default Re: M42 lenses on a FinePix S1?

another fine place to discuss these lenses is the Manual Focus Lenses Forum
__________________
Rense
Rense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008   #12
Former Camel
 
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 2,958
CamelKarma: 3200
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: M42 lenses on a FinePix S1?

Alrighty Doug, thanks for the explanation. I actually knew most of that except the term "metering" confuses me.

I am under the impression that the "aperture" (size of the eye) and "shutter speed" (duration the eye is open) dictates the "exposure" (amount of light reaching the sensor)

Not to mention ISO (sensitivity to light)

When you say "meter" as a verb, you mean the camera will measure the amount of light hitting the CCD sensor and make a recommendation weather it feels the photo will be over, under, or correctly exposed.

And I will have to use these very old lenses in "manual mode" on my Nikon based camera - manually setting the aperture dial on the lens and the shutter speed on the body. The body will not "meter", meaning it will not measure the light and make a recommendation.

But if I used a Canon dSLR instead I could use "aperture priority mode" rather than just "manual mode". Meaning I would set the aperture on the lens and the camera would control the shutter speed based on it's metering.

"metering" is done through the viewfinder.

In "evaluative metering" the camera looks at the entire viewfinder to measure the amount of light.

In "spot metering" the camera looks only at the center to measure the amount of light (very handy for back-lit portraits).

So when I put a manual focus lens on a "FinePix S1" it just gives up metering. But if I put a manual focus lens on any Canon dSLR it still meters them... That's why this Fuji forum is not very responsive to the idea of using manual focus lenses. I see now ...

Is the above all correct? It took me a while to wrap my mind around all that

Cheers,
Craig

p.s. It's fun to post pics. Here is photographic evidence that I am circa 1977 :
Attached Images
File Type: jpg copy of craigb.jpg (122.2 KB, 68 views)
spystyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008   #13
F1 Camel
 
Location: Jax FL
Posts: 4,227
CamelKarma: 1676
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: M42 lenses on a FinePix S1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spystyle View Post
When you say "meter" as a verb, you mean the camera will measure the amount of light hitting the CCD sensor and make a recommendation weather it feels the photo will be over, under, or correctly exposed.

right, the S1 will not do this. so to use it on the S1 you will have to use a light meter so you can set the manual exposure, for a proper exposure.
__________________
Fuji S2/S3/S5 Pro
Kenko MC7 2X, Pro 300
Nkkor 50 1.8 70-300VR
Phoenix 100, 650-1300& Sima 100mm F2 SF
Sigma 12-24, 18-50 HSM, 18-125, 50-500, 70-300, 120-300, 1.4X 2x
Tamron 28-75
badpickev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008   #14
Former Camel
 
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 2,958
CamelKarma: 3200
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: M42 lenses on a FinePix S1?

Rense, I looked at your list, you have nearly 50 M42 lenses! That's a lot. Too bad you don't have a sample pic from each one, that would be a hoot.

Especially if you had the exact same pic through each lens, like a studio test, and those who look at your page could decide which one took the best pic.

As for the yellowing of the radioactive lenses - I have read they do not produce enough rads to be harmful. Also, the yellowing produces "warm" pictures that people think are so cool - not realizing the lens is actually yellowing with age. Isn't that funny ? Like a yellow filter.

Cheers,
Craig
spystyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008   #15
F1 Camel
 
Location: Jax FL
Posts: 4,227
CamelKarma: 1676
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: M42 lenses on a FinePix S1?

btw, i almost had my hands on a old cosina 55 1.7 in an ais mount, but the deal fell through when the lens got dropped.
__________________
Fuji S2/S3/S5 Pro
Kenko MC7 2X, Pro 300
Nkkor 50 1.8 70-300VR
Phoenix 100, 650-1300& Sima 100mm F2 SF
Sigma 12-24, 18-50 HSM, 18-125, 50-500, 70-300, 120-300, 1.4X 2x
Tamron 28-75
badpickev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008   #16
Former Camel
 
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 2,958
CamelKarma: 3200
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: M42 lenses on a FinePix S1?

At what point in time did cameras begin to "meter" ? I wonder how far back in time I will place myself when I use a manual focus lens on an FinePix S1.

edit : Google to the rescue, I have found the answer :

WHO INVENTED TTL-METERING ?

The very first patent on a through-the-lens metered camera was registered by the great engineer Karl Nuechterlein in 1940 who has designed the KINE-EXAKTA and was missed as a soldier in the last days of WWII. Men like him could have altered the the fate of German camera industry! Nuechterlein planned (Selen-) photo-cells surrounding the light chute and a semi-transparent finder mirror with a needle instrument be seen though the finder as well as outside (DRP315262, US-Patent 2297428). Alas, this invention was far away from feasibility at that time...

At 5th Feb.1958 the Japanese engineer Takeshi Goshima registered No. 2937582 at the US patent office for CANON. Claimed is the invention of a rangefinder camera (looking similar to the just announced Canon VI-L) with light-metering through the lens. Triggered by a manual lever a photocell swings into way in front of the shutter curtain, metered upside the camera on a scale. This was the first spot-metering patent of the world.


More of that info here

So there you have it, if I couple these manual lense with my FinePix S1 I will be technologically below 1958! I have posted a request in the marketplace forum for any inexpensive Canon dSLR. I have never had luck there though. I will probably have to scour ebay for one.

Do any of you guys have an inexpensive Canon body to sell me?

Just to verify - ANY Canon dSLR will meter the old glass and will work in aperture priorty mode. Correct?

Thank you,
Craig
spystyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008   #17
Dromedary
 
dougsmit's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,446
CamelKarma: 19805
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: M42 lenses on a FinePix S1?

Correct. You have the idea and terms now. If you are going to try old lenses, you are limited mostly by the physical mounting and how bad an image you are willing to accept. There is nothing to prevent you from mounting the lens from a 100+ year old camera using a toilet paper tube and tape. Most older lenses were made for large format so the sharpness suffers when used on 35mm or smaller formats. Lenses from rangefinder cameras like Leica/Canon/Nikon sold can be excellent but will not focus to infinity on an SLR with a thicker body. That doesn't mean you can't use them for close ups.

Another optical toy that adapts well to the Canon way of metering is the microscope. Adapters are common in M42 and adding a Canon adapter to that puts you in business.

The question is whether you get enough fun out of all this to offset to loss of image quality, autofocus and general convenience offered by the lenses made for use with modern DSLR's. I didn't; others live for it.
__________________
Doug Smith http://www.pbase.com/dougsmit
dougsmit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008   #18
Former Camel
 
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 2,958
CamelKarma: 3200
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: M42 lenses on a FinePix S1?

I'm thinking the 10D is the ticket for me. I use a "pro" camera (the S1) and I did not like a "prosumer" camera I tested (Evolt 500). I bet I'll find the 10D is big and has a big bright viewfinder that lends itself well to the manual lenses.

It can't hurt to have 2 cameras

Cheers,
Craig
spystyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008   #19
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
Rense's Avatar
 
Location: Zwolle
Posts: 27,062
CamelKarma: 8523012
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: No
Default Re: M42 lenses on a FinePix S1?

I've made shots with all of my lenses of a colored/measuring card, but still need to make this presentable.
__________________
Rense
Rense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008   #20
Former Camel
 
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 2,958
CamelKarma: 3200
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: M42 lenses on a FinePix S1?

That's probably better than using a model - she'd get tired and grumpy before 50 lenses


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
spystyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Fuji »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is anyone still using the FinePix S1 ? spystyle Fuji 16 11-12-2008 11:21 PM
Some pics from a FinePix S1 spystyle Fuji 7 09-17-2008 09:44 AM
Can non-AI lenses be modified to fit the S1 ? spystyle Fuji 6 06-10-2008 11:24 AM
M42 mount on D200 jazzology Nikon 7 05-10-2007 12:09 PM