XPro1 issue
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Fuji

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2015   #1
Llama
 
lassmanac's Avatar
 
Location: Amman, Jordan
Posts: 918
CamelKarma: 2257226
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default XPro1 issue

Hey guys,

I've had an XPro1 for about 6 months now and I have to admit, i'm pretty frustrated with it. Whenever i change the battery, all my settings reset to factory default. Now, if I swap out two fully charged batteries, there's no problem. It happens if i have been out shooting all day and swap a well used battery for a new one. It resets the time/date, all my custome profiles, everything. have any of you guys experienced this? i've seen that the date/time resetting is normal, but not the custome settings. But then, i have also seen that this is totally abnormal and could be an internal buffer battery issue. thoughts?

A.

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
You can call me "Lassman" or "Sparky"
***************
I shoot Fujifilm Mirrorless cameras.
***************
"If you find yourself saying I'll just fix it later in Photoshop, stop what you are doing and slap yourself as hard as you can! 'cause you're being lazy and you're being mediocre."~ Zack Arias
I'm the first American to be featured on the UK's Fujiholics Blog: http://www.fujiholics.com/blog/lassman
lassmanac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015   #2
Alpaca
 
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 30
CamelKarma: 147672
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: XPro1 issue

If it has a "button battery" check or replace it and see if that solves it.
Gtwhtgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015   #3
Llama
 
lassmanac's Avatar
 
Location: Amman, Jordan
Posts: 918
CamelKarma: 2257226
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: XPro1 issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gtwhtgt View Post
If it has a "button battery" check or replace it and see if that solves it.
from what i've seen, the XPro1 buffer battery is integrated and souldered to the main board and not a button type.
__________________
You can call me "Lassman" or "Sparky"
***************
I shoot Fujifilm Mirrorless cameras.
***************
"If you find yourself saying I'll just fix it later in Photoshop, stop what you are doing and slap yourself as hard as you can! 'cause you're being lazy and you're being mediocre."~ Zack Arias
I'm the first American to be featured on the UK's Fujiholics Blog: http://www.fujiholics.com/blog/lassman
lassmanac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015   #4
F1 Camel
 
Golem's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,791
CamelKarma: 683702
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: XPro1 issue

Can't recall which brand, but one of my camera manuals,
or maybe a digital audio recorder manual, states that one
must always keep a good battery loaded in, cuz that will
maintain the data. It specifies that when swapping out a
battery you only have two minutes to work [easy enuf] or
risk losing your settings.

Sounds to me like you have a similar hardware situation
and that perhaps age has narrowed the working time it
allows for battery swaps, AND now requires a somewhat
stronger battery in place just before the swap.

Just sharing and guessing, in case it sheds any light ...

`
Golem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015   #5
Llama
 
lassmanac's Avatar
 
Location: Amman, Jordan
Posts: 918
CamelKarma: 2257226
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: XPro1 issue

I ended up sending it in to fuji. We'll see what they say.
__________________
You can call me "Lassman" or "Sparky"
***************
I shoot Fujifilm Mirrorless cameras.
***************
"If you find yourself saying I'll just fix it later in Photoshop, stop what you are doing and slap yourself as hard as you can! 'cause you're being lazy and you're being mediocre."~ Zack Arias
I'm the first American to be featured on the UK's Fujiholics Blog: http://www.fujiholics.com/blog/lassman
lassmanac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015   #6
Vicuna
 
icee's Avatar
 
Location: newcastle upon tyne uk
Posts: 140
CamelKarma: 83
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: XPro1 issue

Never had that issue with mine, it will be interesting to see what Fuji say.
icee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015   #7
F1 Camel
 
Narsuitus's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,790
CamelKarma: 31066
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: XPro1 issue

If I remember correctly, this problem is solved with a firmware upgrade.
Narsuitus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015   #8
Llama
 
lassmanac's Avatar
 
Location: Amman, Jordan
Posts: 918
CamelKarma: 2257226
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: XPro1 issue

I JUUUUST got an email from Fuji... it was the on-board battery needing replacement. was driving me nuts!!
__________________
You can call me "Lassman" or "Sparky"
***************
I shoot Fujifilm Mirrorless cameras.
***************
"If you find yourself saying I'll just fix it later in Photoshop, stop what you are doing and slap yourself as hard as you can! 'cause you're being lazy and you're being mediocre."~ Zack Arias
I'm the first American to be featured on the UK's Fujiholics Blog: http://www.fujiholics.com/blog/lassman
lassmanac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2015   #9
Alpaca
 
dhaphotography's Avatar
 
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 21
CamelKarma: 192638
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: XPro1 issue

Yes, must have been a hardware issue. I often deplete my battery and the setting have always been saved. Great camera and better lenses. I was a Pentax shooter with their inimitable Ltd. lenses but have recently moved to Fuji and couldn't be happier. Yes, the AF is a shade longer and the gear is not for action, but it is still a wonderful and user friendly system.
dhaphotography is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2015   #10
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Administrator
 
Mr. Pickles's Avatar
 
Location: Old Folks Home
Posts: 23,274
CamelKarma: 6968994
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: XPro1 issue

So you got it back and all is well? We need images to prove it


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
Olympus Full-time User
Olympus Passion Magazine
Idiot Savant AND trouble-maker...

PhotoCamel Helpful Info....
Posting Images Tutorial ... Posting and Critiquing? ... What's Camel Karma?
Mr. Pickles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Fuji »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes