is it possible to use 4gb card on S2pro
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Fuji

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2012   #1
Llama
 
kennethwfd's Avatar
 
Location: New forest UK
Posts: 551
CamelKarma: 3092286
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default is it possible to use 4gb card on S2pro

That is the question. I obtained a 4gb Microdrive card, but the camera does not recognise it saying "card not initialised" and will not format card.

I have heard that if the card is formatted to FAT as opposed to FAT32, the camera will recognise it, but only have the options of exFAT (which does not work, the PC will not format it as such) and FAT32 (using XP sp3)

Any way round this, or do I have to stick to cards no more than 2Gb which is what is currently in the camera

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
kennethwfd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012   #2
Photocamel Master
 
Dirk's Avatar
 
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 7,564
CamelKarma: 901196
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: is it possible to use 4gb card on S2pro

Hi Kenneth..
Apperantly yes , you have to stick to 2gb cards if there is no newer frimware availeable on the fuij net site . i had the same porblem with a nikon d50 camera it alos took only 2gb max cards and new firmware was not comming so i sold it and grabbed a more modern camera to replace

formatting a 4gb card in two partitions of 2gb could work but MAY ruin the card forever .. so it is your choice to test it
__________________
Life is too short to miss a picture
Dirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012   #3
F1 Camel
 
Location: Jax FL
Posts: 4,227
CamelKarma: 1676
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: is it possible to use 4gb card on S2pro

while there are ways to format the card so the s2 will read it.

the reality is the s2 only can use 2gb sized cards or only 2gbs of space on larger cards
__________________
Fuji S2/S3/S5 Pro
Kenko MC7 2X, Pro 300
Nkkor 50 1.8 70-300VR
Phoenix 100, 650-1300& Sima 100mm F2 SF
Sigma 12-24, 18-50 HSM, 18-125, 50-500, 70-300, 120-300, 1.4X 2x
Tamron 28-75
badpickev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012   #4
Llama
 
kennethwfd's Avatar
 
Location: New forest UK
Posts: 551
CamelKarma: 3092286
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: is it possible to use 4gb card on S2pro

thanks, I suspected as much after the same problem with the S7000, seems better to sell it & buy 2gb cards
kennethwfd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012   #5
Vicuna
 
soupy1957's Avatar
 
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 128
CamelKarma: 1263
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: is it possible to use 4gb card on S2pro

There's one way around this problem that you might consider...............go get out your old film camera, and shoot with IT. (lol)

-Soupy1957
__________________
"When it comes to film photography, 'bracketing is a rich man's pleasure; not a poor man's choice."
-SCampbell
soupy1957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012   #6
Llama
 
kennethwfd's Avatar
 
Location: New forest UK
Posts: 551
CamelKarma: 3092286
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: is it possible to use 4gb card on S2pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by soupy1957 View Post
There's one way around this problem that you might consider...............go get out your old film camera, and shoot with IT. (lol)

-Soupy1957
can you still get kodak 120 film for my old box camera? Sold the 4Gb card, replacement 2Gb card showed "not initialised" error, win xp formatted it as plain FAT but lost 13Mb in the process. Still at 5 a card, just need several & number them


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
kennethwfd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Fuji »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sandisk Exteme III 8gb and 4gb SD card NIB kiddk1 Marketplace / Buy-Sell 20 12-17-2009 02:54 PM
Sandisk Ultra II 4GB card trouble Lee4145 Computers and Software 11 03-16-2009 07:02 PM
FS: Lexar 4gb Professional CF 300x UDMA card kiddk1 Marketplace / Buy-Sell 3 11-22-2008 09:47 PM
SOLD: (USA/CAN) *NEW* EOS 30D/FREE 4GB SanDisk Ultra II CF Card Remford Marketplace / Buy-Sell 1 02-01-2008 06:05 PM
FS: (USA/CAN) *NEW* Rebel XTi/FREE 4GB SanDisk Ultra II CF Card Remford Marketplace / Buy-Sell 0 01-29-2008 11:37 PM