Any S5 pro users out there?
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Fuji

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2012   #1
Vicuna
 
SteveD's Avatar
 
Posts: 62
CamelKarma: 230
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Any S5 pro users out there?

Just bought a used S5 Pro on ebay in real good condition. Only problem is I can't use the raw RAF files in the old photoshop 7 that I use. Anyone have any ideas apart from buying a new set of CS5 software? Any help would be appreciated.

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
SteveD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012   #2
F1 Camel
 
Location: Jax FL
Posts: 4,227
CamelKarma: 1676
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Any S5 pro users out there?

i use the s5
__________________
Fuji S2/S3/S5 Pro
Kenko MC7 2X, Pro 300
Nkkor 50 1.8 70-300VR
Phoenix 100, 650-1300& Sima 100mm F2 SF
Sigma 12-24, 18-50 HSM, 18-125, 50-500, 70-300, 120-300, 1.4X 2x
Tamron 28-75
badpickev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012   #3
Alpaca
 
Posts: 10
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Any S5 pro users out there?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveD View Post
Anyone have any ideas apart from buying a new set of CS5 software? Any help would be appreciated.
Here is an answer i got from the same question:

Just use RPP to convert the RAF-Photo to TIFF or JPEG...

Raw Photo Processor (RPP)

You also can try to find the Bundled software from S5(fine pix) which has Raw converter but only for windows, after conversion you do the final touch in PS.
superman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012   #4
Vicuna
 
SteveD's Avatar
 
Posts: 62
CamelKarma: 230
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Any S5 pro users out there?

That looks good but the RPP only works on Macs if I am reading it right. I use a PC.....
SteveD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012   #5
F1 Camel
 
Location: Jax FL
Posts: 4,227
CamelKarma: 1676
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Any S5 pro users out there?

i use elemnts 5 and 8, both read s5 files. lightroom reads them, silkypix as well.
__________________
Fuji S2/S3/S5 Pro
Kenko MC7 2X, Pro 300
Nkkor 50 1.8 70-300VR
Phoenix 100, 650-1300& Sima 100mm F2 SF
Sigma 12-24, 18-50 HSM, 18-125, 50-500, 70-300, 120-300, 1.4X 2x
Tamron 28-75
badpickev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012   #6
Llama
 
kennethwfd's Avatar
 
Location: New forest UK
Posts: 551
CamelKarma: 3092286
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Any S5 pro users out there?

just aquired 2 S2pro's for a song on eBay, the first "malfunctions, it flattens batteries" works perfectly well with replacements. Had trouble with the software, my version of Silkypics which came with my HS20 does not recognise the RAF files from the S2pro. Found S7RAW, a free conversion program which has some basic tools and converts between various file formats
kennethwfd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012   #7
Alpaca
 
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 33
CamelKarma: 197845
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default

The s5 handles exposure exceptionally well especially if you accidently slightly overexpose. I used the camera in the studio for portrait work and always shot jpg. The s5 is a great camera. It is too bad fuji chose not to continue with pro or semi pro dslrs.
Sbode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012   #8
Vicuna
 
lazycatstudios's Avatar
 
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 170
CamelKarma: 223
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Any S5 pro users out there?

I got so far 150K on mine. Since I'm on the Mac I can use QuickTime to convert.
Look if you can install it on the Windows, here is the link:
QuickTime 7.4.1 for Windows
lazycatstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013   #9
Llama
 
kennethwfd's Avatar
 
Location: New forest UK
Posts: 551
CamelKarma: 3092286
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Any S5 pro users out there?

I've just brought a S5pro and am very impressed with the test shots I have taken. The body set me back £329 with a new 2gb card, spare battery, charger & USB cable included in the deal from a high street camera shop with 6 months warranty. (standard procedure for all second hand equipment sold by this firm)

At the risk of restarting the old RAW vJPEG argument, I shoot RAW so the data is there if I need it the future. After converting to JPEG with S7raw program, I then run the resulting image through Smartfix in PSE10. This increases the resolution by around fivefold, a 3.8mb file is now just over 14mb, the details on a pony's mane and reflective collar are just astounding
Attached Images
File Type: jpg new forest pony.jpg (142.3 KB, 61 views)
__________________
Photography is a blend of art and science which involves four stages. 1.Seeing - an eye for a picture, 2 Taking - aspects of camera craft 3. Making - post processing 4. Presenting - the finished article
I have studied photography seriously for over 40 years and digital imaging for 23 years and continue to do both. If ever I thought I had “arrived” or reached any sort of “standard” I would pack [it] in because what I would have reached was a plateau and would then probably be incapable of learning new things……I hope this never happens.
Leo Palmer




Last edited by kennethwfd; 02-08-2013 at 01:31 PM.. Reason: clarification - two batteries not two chargers!
kennethwfd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013   #10
F1 Camel
 
Sidebyte's Avatar
 
Location: Medellin, Colombia S.A.
Posts: 3,665
CamelKarma: 1495882
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Any S5 pro users out there?

Quote:
Originally Posted by badpickev View Post
i use elemnts 5 and 8, both read s5 files. lightroom reads them, silkypix as well.
Kev, considering you have several Fuji's how do you rate the images from the
S3 vs. the S5? Not the bodies or ergonomics but strictly IQ.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
"To conquer a nation you must first disarm it's citizens"
Adolph Hitler
Sidebyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Fuji »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuji S5 Pro Compactflash Memory chrian Photography Talk 9 03-09-2009 02:09 PM
Lowest S5 Pro price in USA.... Raist3d Fuji 9 07-08-2008 11:02 PM
Fuji S5 Pro for $1k in the USA? Raist3d Fuji 2 06-06-2008 09:52 PM
Fujifilm FinePix S5 Pro as a Second Camera excia Nikon 2 06-17-2007 12:13 AM
Live view on the S5 pro... Raist3d Fuji 0 12-08-2006 06:36 PM