Considering doing film photography as a hobby. Can i succeed?
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Film Camera

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2011   #1
Alpaca

CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Considering doing film photography as a hobby. Can i succeed?

First post in this forum and quite a long one as well !

Folks, Please help this poor novice take a decision on pursuing film photography

A little bit about myself:
I'm relatively new to digital photography as well. Been doing it only for the past 2 years. I mostly shoot my family and friends. I own a four-thirds system (2X crop). Olympus E-5 body, a 50mm prime, a 12-60 and a 50-200 lens.
Though I'm fascinated, I have zero knowledge about film photography (the film development process even scares me!). If i choose to pursue film photography, I'll mostly shoot portraits. I'm planning to spend around 150-200 bucks on equipment.

My questions:

1. Practically is it possible for a complete novice like me to pursue film photography as a hobby at this digital era? At least for the next 4-5 years? What you think is the likely hood of film related supplies and services being
available, at least online?

2. I'm thinking places like walmart, walgreens and even camera specialty shops may phase out film development services in another 1-2 years. Do you think my prediction will happen? At least, will i be able to do development online.

3. At this time, I'm thinking about scanning the negatives. Do i need to invest in a specialty flat bed scanner? I have a consumer-grade all-in-one hp printer that does scanning. The specs of it says it can do 4800 x 4800 ppi. Will this suffice to do quality scans of negatives?