New to photography...
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Film Camera

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2006   #1
Vicuna

CamelKarma: 11
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default New to photography...

Hello.

I'm new to SLR film photography and was wondering if you guys could answer a few questions for me.

This is the equipment I'm working with:

EOS Rebel T2

Canon EF 70-300 IS USM

Subjects: Mostly Nature

Film: Kadak UC 400

I want to eventually purchase a Canon SLR Digital camera, but for now the above is what I'm working with.

My goal: To create those amazingly crisp and colorful photos that everyone loves. I would also like to have them available as digital files to start an on-line album of high-quality images. Currently I am using Shutterfly.com to develop and digitize my photos. However, I'm not thrilled with the results and really need to move ahead to bigger and better things.

So, what will I need to get top quality prints and digital photos? Do most of you get high quality prints and scan them to Photoshop? What exactly is the process and how many pixels should a great quality print be?

Will appreciate all responses.

Thank you.

RayJ

Old 07-01-2006   #2
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath

CamelKarma: 1099193
Editing OK?: No
Default Re: New to photography...

Shutterfly's specialty product is the custom photo book made from uploaded files. My brother works for Shutterfly, and this is the one item he pushes. Never used their developing service, as I would rather have a pro lab do it if at all possible.
Old 07-01-2006   #3
F1 Camel

CamelKarma: 661924
Editing OK?: Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by RayJ