64 bit versus 32 bit
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software

View Poll Results: I use the
64 bit version of Windows 27 50.94%
32 bit version of Windows 18 33.96%
I don't use Windows! 8 15.09%
Voters: 53. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2009   #1
Llama
 
JimAuburn's Avatar
 
Posts: 572
CamelKarma: 454
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default 64 bit versus 32 bit

What are the advantages/disadvantages of installing the 64 bit versions of Windows rather than the 32 bit? I know the memory advantage: you can access over 4 GB with 64 bit. But otherwise? Is 64 bit more taxing and slower?

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
JimAuburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009   #2
Bactrian
 
Not4wood's Avatar
 
Location: back home from France, in NYC
Posts: 2,296
CamelKarma: 3876
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 64 bit versus 32 bit

Wow, interesting timing. I've just upgraded to a Dual Core, 64bit Vista Premium computer and I'm trying to install my programs that I've come to use most often. So far everything I've had from my Printer Disk to my old Version of Photoshop Elements 5 have had Vista Installation disks included. There for the more normal 32 bit versions I guess except for my Printer files disks which to me is running a lot different and faster.

Truthfully, I even have two versions of IE7 in here and the 64 bit version runs exactly the same way except some Plug-Ins don't have a 64bit version to let this Browser perform the way its supposed to. I'm using the old IE7 32 version to look at Videos at Youtube and the new 64bit version can't see those Videos. Do they run faster or slower I can't answer that yet till the new helper files actually come out.
__________________
Mark G
Not4wood
My Flickr Portfolio: http://www.flickr.com/photos/30920268@N06/show/

Nikon D700
Nikon D80 w/Kit 18-135
Nikon 70-300 VR f:4.5-5.6
Nikon 60mm f:2.8 Macro
Sigma 24-70 f:2.8 DG DF Aspherical
Old Vivitar 283, Nikon SB900
Manfrotto Tripod 055XB w/Manfrotto 486 RC2 Ball Head
Not4wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009   #3
F1 Camel
 
gryphonslair99's Avatar
 
Location: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Posts: 3,652
CamelKarma: 1091466
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 64 bit versus 32 bit

The disadvantage here isn't in 32 bit vs 64 bit. The disadvantage here is using Windoze entirely. Mac users don't ask these questions. We already see the speed increase with a 64 bit system. Now if Adobe will get their act together and get CS4 out in a 64 bit version.
__________________
Amateurs worry about equipment, professionals worry about time, masters worry about light.

I can honestly say that there are two most remarkable men in the world today. Michio Kaku is one and I am the other one. Between us we cover all knowledge.

Kaku knows all that can be known....And I know the rest.


"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery. Today?
Today is a gift. That is why we call it the present."

Master Oogway from Kung Fu Panda
gryphonslair99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009   #4
Camel Breath
 
swampler's Avatar
 
Location: Lebanon, TN
Posts: 17,634
CamelKarma: 3332465
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 64 bit versus 32 bit

I use 32 bit now, but if I upgrade to Windows 7, I will go 64 bit then.

I'm sure glad I don't have a Mac...sounds like they don't give you any choices.
__________________
Steve
swampler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009   #5
Camel Breath
 
swampler's Avatar
 
Location: Lebanon, TN
Posts: 17,634
CamelKarma: 3332465
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 64 bit versus 32 bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arfur View Post
That's correct, swampler. You don't get garbage with Macs. Only top of the line gear.
Yep, top of the line trash can (MAC) to hold the trash bag (OSX). You have to buy the garbage separately!

So, any luck with your popups?
__________________
Steve
swampler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009   #6
Dromedary
 
M. Worthington's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,580
CamelKarma: 1033
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 64 bit versus 32 bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Not4wood View Post
Truthfully, I even have two versions of IE7 in here and the 64 bit version runs exactly the same way except some Plug-Ins don't have a 64bit version to let this Browser perform the way its supposed to. I'm using the old IE7 32 version to look at Videos at Youtube and the new 64bit version can't see those Videos. Do they run faster or slower I can't answer that yet till the new helper files actually come out.
After hearing all of this, the 64 bit version sounds like a big pain in the watooka. And how many programs really require or take advantage of more than 4 gigs of ram?
M. Worthington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009   #7
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Photocamel Master
 
zemlin's Avatar
 
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 6,826
CamelKarma: 7045525
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 64 bit versus 32 bit

Come on guys - this dead horse is as tired and pointless as debates about Politics, Religion, Nikon vs Canon ... ... ...
There are no winners, only losers who have nothing better to contribute.
This isn't helping the OP one teeny bit.
zemlin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009   #8
Alpaca
 
Posts: 1
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 64 bit versus 32 bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by zemlin View Post
This isn't helping the OP one teeny bit.
That's true. Why doesn't someone just start an "I hate Windows" thread, and all the MS haters can post their venom there.
Joe User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009   #9
Camel Breath
 
JDArt's Avatar
 
Location: Far out
Posts: 23,701
CamelKarma: 2121022
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 64 bit versus 32 bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arfur View Post
In response to the venomous, arrogant, misguided Windows posts.
Let's just assume you're joking. Regardless, let's keep the threads on track, or I'll have to get out the woopin' stick.
JDArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009   #10
Bactrian
 
Not4wood's Avatar
 
Location: back home from France, in NYC
Posts: 2,296
CamelKarma: 3876
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 64 bit versus 32 bit

So far, I've finished installing my CS2 and I've been trying to catch up on my add-ons. I found my Key Code for my Nik Sharpener and now I'm going in and trying to install my Actions.

Next up, its finally time folks. I'm up to Calibrating my Monitor. I do hope that the installation disk does have a Vista version.

BTW, Arfus is correct. Apple had whats called "Hyper Card" if I'm remembering it correctly on Mac Users way back when. Worked Great for exactly for what it was, a great easy way to get into your computer and run the programs.

We all have our preferences, whether it be IBM, MS or Apple, and like the Canon or Nikon debate. I think this is the best way to figure out how to install and run our programs on the new systems logically.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
Mark G
Not4wood
My Flickr Portfolio: http://www.flickr.com/photos/30920268@N06/show/

Nikon D700
Nikon D80 w/Kit 18-135
Nikon 70-300 VR f:4.5-5.6
Nikon 60mm f:2.8 Macro
Sigma 24-70 f:2.8 DG DF Aspherical
Old Vivitar 283, Nikon SB900
Manfrotto Tripod 055XB w/Manfrotto 486 RC2 Ball Head
Not4wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CS4 and 64 bit processer Devo Computers and Software 14 02-27-2009 09:13 PM
64 or 32 bit? JDArt Computers and Software 16 12-28-2008 01:52 PM
No 64-bit CS4 for Macs Alfred D. Image Editing 22 04-15-2008 02:27 PM
64 bit JDArt Computers and Software 4 10-17-2007 06:20 PM
Dual-core and 64-bit JDArt Computers and Software 14 09-26-2007 12:19 AM