How much RAM to install?
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2008   #1
Vicuna
 
Posts: 96
CamelKarma: 47
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default How much RAM to install?

My PC has XP-Pro & 2Gb Ram installed, I'm about to add an additional 1Gb, but I seem to remember being told that windows XP (32 bit) can use 3.5Gb Ram. I also heard that if you install too much Ram it slows the system down.

Therefore would it be worthwhile upgrading the Ram to 4Gb instead of 3Gb?

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
visagephoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008   #2
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
cyclohexane's Avatar
 
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 10,883
CamelKarma: 1099193
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: How much RAM to install?

Quote:
I also heard that if you install too much Ram it slows the system down.
Your initial start-up may slow down, but your overall performance will be better.
__________________
-Michael
cyclohexane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008   #3
Llama
 
12stones's Avatar
 
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 559
CamelKarma: 3083
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: How much RAM to install?

Both your motherboard and OS determine RAM capacities. If your motherboard will handle 5Gb, but your OS only 3.5, then it's a waste of money to get the additional.

And, like said before, it will probably slow down your start up, but overall performance will definitely improve.
12stones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008   #4
Alpaca
 
Location: nc
Posts: 28
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: How much RAM to install?

Win XP pro will only recognize 2Gig ram
GRASPUTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008   #5
Former Camel
 
Posts: 544
CamelKarma: 126
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: How much RAM to install?

Does adding more RAM make your computer faster? Click here!
Take12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008   #6
Guanaco
 
Location: Tasmania, Australia.
Posts: 427
CamelKarma: 303
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: How much RAM to install?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GRASPUTER View Post
Win XP pro will only recognize 2Gig ram
False.

XP will recognize 4GB of Ram in "TOTAL"

By total I mean your system has memory addresses, there deducted from total ram.

Here is an explanation: Coding Horror: Dude, Where's My 4 Gigabytes of RAM?
__________________
Comment and Critique always welcome.
eastley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008   #7
Alpaca
 
Posts: 8
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: How much RAM to install?

Yep check your OS before doing anything else.
BTW What OS do I need to get 8 GB of ram?


hostchecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008   #8
Alpaca
 
Posts: 4
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: How much RAM to install?

Hi
Now i am P4 system and mother board is dual core.And i want to know upto how GB ram can i use.
__________________________________________________ ______________________-

Lexie
lexie961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008   #9
Alpaca
 
Posts: 4
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: How much RAM to install?

Is there anybody there to help me......
________________________________________
Lexie
reverse mortgages
holiday yard decorations
Keyword Research
Texas Health Insurance
lexie961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008   #10
Former Camel
 
Posts: 544
CamelKarma: 126
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: How much RAM to install?

Lexie, I think your P4/XP max addressable RAM is 3.2GB.

Hostchecker, I think for 8 GB of addressable RAM you need Vista or MacOSX Leopard (and a machine with enough slots).


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
Take12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install dual monitors D.Rodgers Computers and Software 17 03-14-2009 04:04 PM
3 Hours to Install Nikon Capture NX 2! Ken-L Computers and Software 8 08-29-2008 11:53 AM
CS3 won't install :( bforrester Computers and Software 5 01-20-2008 02:33 PM
??? RAM Fusion Computers and Software 9 10-04-2007 08:57 PM