Transferring 250GB of data - Page 3
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2008   #21
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Transferring 250GB of data

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacco View Post
The other parts are: store some of those backup copies in another physical location
Not sure this is a universal strategy. As Brian mentioned earlier, common risks are theft and fire. Where I'm from, neither is a serious risk.

In any case, just wanted to point out, in an international forum like the Camel, that somethings might be local, not universal.

Cheers
__________________
It's all about light, my friend.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008   #22
Vicuna
 
Posts: 226
CamelKarma: 46
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Transferring 250GB of data

The 20 storey construction crane that collapsed on top of a Manhattan high-rise building wasn't 'a serious risk' either, aam! Yet, it happened.

Anything can happen.
And, according to Murphy's Law, it will.
Jacco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008   #23
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Transferring 250GB of data

You got me there, Jacco. Good point

Another karma is dispatched.
__________________
It's all about light, my friend.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008   #24
Lubbock, Tx.
 
Mark McCall's Avatar
 
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,706
CamelKarma: 307172
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Transferring 250GB of data

Quote:
Originally Posted by aam1234 View Post
is it OK to transfer the whole lot in one go. Kindly keep in mind that both have fans for cooling.
I do this all the time. Yes, it's ok to move it all at once.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian.austin View Post
Copy it over rather than "moving" it. If something goes wrong, you've got the original still and can do it again.
When moving data from one drive to another, the data appears in both places. So you are, in effect, copying when moving.
However, if you copy all the data, then paste it to another drive, you'll bog down system resources.

You'll get the same effect by simply moving the data.
__________________
Mark McCall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008   #25
Photocamel Master
 
brian.austin's Avatar
 
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 7,875
CamelKarma: 10673
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Transferring 250GB of data

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark McCall View Post
When moving data from one drive to another, the data appears in both places. So you are, in effect, copying when moving.
However, if you copy all the data, then paste it to another drive, you'll bog down system resources.

You'll get the same effect by simply moving the data.
Using drag/drop In Windows, moving between drives is an automatic copy...provided your system is set up that way (It can be changed). Moving WITHIN a drive is a move, not a copy.

You can adjust behavior by using the CTRL while dragging to cycle between move and copy (turns ON copy within drive, turns OFF copy between drives).

It's important to understand that many of the things we take for granted in Windows can be changed from their default behavior. What you may see all the time in your environment may not be the same in another.
__________________
Diligentia, Vis, Celeritas
brian.austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008   #26
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Transferring 250GB of data

Thanks Mark and Brian.

Shall I Copy & Paste.
__________________
It's all about light, my friend.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008   #27
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Photocamel Master
 
mcbit's Avatar
 
Location: Hard at work.........well that was a shock!
Posts: 6,589
CamelKarma: 1049806
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Transferring 250GB of data

Anyone ever used a little Microsoft (free) add-in called SyncToy? I've been using it for a couple of years now and find it invaluable for sychronising folders and for backing up between various external drives.
__________________
-mcbit

'Twelve significant photographs in any one year is a good crop.'
Ansell Adams

My SmugMug Piccies
My PBase Snaps
mcbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008   #28
Lubbock, Tx.
 
Mark McCall's Avatar
 
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,706
CamelKarma: 307172
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Transferring 250GB of data

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian.austin View Post
You can adjust behavior by using the CTRL while dragging to cycle between move and copy (turns ON copy within drive, turns OFF copy between drives).
I did not know that. Great information.

Just so I have it right:
Hitting the CTRL button will cycle between moving and copying while dragging from one drive to another?
__________________
Mark McCall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008   #29
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
cyclohexane's Avatar
 
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 10,883
CamelKarma: 1099193
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Transferring 250GB of data

Quote:
Hitting the CTRL button will cycle between moving and copying while dragging from one drive to another?
By default, you have to hold down CTRL as you release the mouse button while dragging to modify the behavior. I'm not aware of a way to set it to toggle instead of requiring you to hold it down.
__________________
-Michael
cyclohexane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008   #30
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Photocamel Master
 
mcbit's Avatar
 
Location: Hard at work.........well that was a shock!
Posts: 6,589
CamelKarma: 1049806
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Transferring 250GB of data

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian.austin View Post
Using drag/drop In Windows, moving between drives is an automatic copy...provided your system is set up that way (It can be changed). Moving WITHIN a drive is a move, not a copy.

You can adjust behavior by using the CTRL while dragging to cycle between move and copy (turns ON copy within drive, turns OFF copy between drives).

It's important to understand that many of the things we take for granted in Windows can be changed from their default behavior. What you may see all the time in your environment may not be the same in another.
Brian can you explain how this works?

By default

Holding Ctrl forces Copy when dragging within drive
Holding Shift forces Move when dragging to another drive


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
-mcbit

'Twelve significant photographs in any one year is a good crop.'
Ansell Adams

My SmugMug Piccies
My PBase Snaps
mcbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What IPTC Data to use jhaide Business of Photography 2 06-10-2008 12:02 AM
5d stops transferring captlen Canon 5 05-25-2008 11:19 AM
Data Recovery HELP The Glamour Spot Computers and Software 2 07-24-2007 01:46 AM
data corruption MeleKalikimaka Nikon 8 05-28-2006 06:26 AM