Photoshop Bridge or Photoshop Lightroom
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2008   #1
Alpaca
 
Location: Matthews, NC
Posts: 5
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Photoshop Bridge or Photoshop Lightroom

Which in your opinion is best to use for uploading digital pictures and why would you need both? You get Bridge with Photoshop and Bridge and Lightroom seem to do about the same thing. I have Photoshop CS3 and Lightroom 1.4, any help on this subject would be appreciated

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
freddiebear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008   #2
Llama
 
Posts: 911
CamelKarma: 2460
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop Bridge or Photoshop Lightroom

Lightroom without a doubt..... SPEED & ease of use.
__________________
EOS 5D MkII with grip| EOS 7D with Grip | EF 24-105 f4L IS | EF 70-200 f2.8L IS MkII | EF 50 f/1.4 | EF 85 f1.8 | EF 100 f2.8 Macro | EF 300 f4L IS | EF 1.4x MkII | Tamron 17-35 f2.8-4 | 28-75 f2.8 | Canon 580EX | Sigma EF500 DG Super | Lightsphere II | Stofen Diffuser | Epson P-2000 |Manfroto 055 ProB Tripod w/488RC4 Head | Epson R2400 | Lexmark C544dn | Lowepro Nova 5 AW | Lowepro Mini Trekker AW | Elinchrom 400BX x2 + 500BRxi x 1 strobes | Sekonic L-358 | Various studio accessories
EOS_JD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008   #3
Camel Breath
 
jfrancho's Avatar
 
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 11,666
CamelKarma: 4939
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop Bridge or Photoshop Lightroom

Strictly for DLing? LR without a doubt. Bridge is quite a bit more than that though, and so is LR. LR is a better asset manager, while Bridge's strength is as a file manager. They both can use ACR, and they can both jump to Photoshop for other editing. Photoshop would be very difficult for me to use without Bridge, but if you aren't one to do much in Photoshop (filters, layers, etc.), LR is the answer since it does quite a bit.
__________________
<)))))><
jfrancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008   #4
Llama
 
Posts: 911
CamelKarma: 2460
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop Bridge or Photoshop Lightroom

I never use Bridge at all. Lightroom and CS3 (when needed).

What do you do in Bridge JF?
__________________
EOS 5D MkII with grip| EOS 7D with Grip | EF 24-105 f4L IS | EF 70-200 f2.8L IS MkII | EF 50 f/1.4 | EF 85 f1.8 | EF 100 f2.8 Macro | EF 300 f4L IS | EF 1.4x MkII | Tamron 17-35 f2.8-4 | 28-75 f2.8 | Canon 580EX | Sigma EF500 DG Super | Lightsphere II | Stofen Diffuser | Epson P-2000 |Manfroto 055 ProB Tripod w/488RC4 Head | Epson R2400 | Lexmark C544dn | Lowepro Nova 5 AW | Lowepro Mini Trekker AW | Elinchrom 400BX x2 + 500BRxi x 1 strobes | Sekonic L-358 | Various studio accessories
EOS_JD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008   #5
Camel Breath
 
jfrancho's Avatar
 
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 11,666
CamelKarma: 4939
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop Bridge or Photoshop Lightroom

Previewing, tagging, sorting, renaming, moving, ACR settings, conversion, batch processing (usually Dr. Brown's 1-2-3 Process, plus some of my own scripts). Since I kick off my raw processing all at once after setting up all the files from the shoot individually, I also use it to browse to the images I'm going to edit in Photoshop itself. If I spend 5 minutes on an image, 3 are from Bridge. I had Rawshooter, so I have LR too, but I hardly use it. To be truthful, I don't really like it for what I'm doing - it just didn't fit in to my workflow. If I didn't have Photoshop, I'd be all over it.
__________________
<)))))><
jfrancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008   #6
Llama
 
Posts: 911
CamelKarma: 2460
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop Bridge or Photoshop Lightroom

I use Lightroom to preview, tag, sort, rename, convert (inc batch which is way quicker and easier than even Dr Brown's).

I also use Lightroom to browse any images I want to edit further. Easy to scroll through and flag or reject or score (1-5).

If you give LR a real workout you'll honestly wonder what you ever saw in Bridge.

JD
__________________
EOS 5D MkII with grip| EOS 7D with Grip | EF 24-105 f4L IS | EF 70-200 f2.8L IS MkII | EF 50 f/1.4 | EF 85 f1.8 | EF 100 f2.8 Macro | EF 300 f4L IS | EF 1.4x MkII | Tamron 17-35 f2.8-4 | 28-75 f2.8 | Canon 580EX | Sigma EF500 DG Super | Lightsphere II | Stofen Diffuser | Epson P-2000 |Manfroto 055 ProB Tripod w/488RC4 Head | Epson R2400 | Lexmark C544dn | Lowepro Nova 5 AW | Lowepro Mini Trekker AW | Elinchrom 400BX x2 + 500BRxi x 1 strobes | Sekonic L-358 | Various studio accessories
EOS_JD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008   #7
Camel Breath
 
jfrancho's Avatar
 
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 11,666
CamelKarma: 4939
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop Bridge or Photoshop Lightroom

I have given it a real workout - I use it sometimes on onesy-twosy pictures. Its great, but I already do all of that in Bridge. I have even written customized panels for it where I've hijacked a few unused EXIF fields for security purposes. Only my view shows these, unless you actually go in and read the file header. Since there isn't any new or value added functionality that it adds, there is no reason for me to switch.

One thing I haven't figured out - can you run a batch process from LR that kicks off an action that points to a script?
__________________
<)))))><
jfrancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008   #8
Llama
 
Posts: 911
CamelKarma: 2460
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop Bridge or Photoshop Lightroom

As I don't use scripts very often, that is not something I've looked at. I just find Lr so much quicker - especially for 1000+ wedding images. Knocks hours off my workflow.
__________________
EOS 5D MkII with grip| EOS 7D with Grip | EF 24-105 f4L IS | EF 70-200 f2.8L IS MkII | EF 50 f/1.4 | EF 85 f1.8 | EF 100 f2.8 Macro | EF 300 f4L IS | EF 1.4x MkII | Tamron 17-35 f2.8-4 | 28-75 f2.8 | Canon 580EX | Sigma EF500 DG Super | Lightsphere II | Stofen Diffuser | Epson P-2000 |Manfroto 055 ProB Tripod w/488RC4 Head | Epson R2400 | Lexmark C544dn | Lowepro Nova 5 AW | Lowepro Mini Trekker AW | Elinchrom 400BX x2 + 500BRxi x 1 strobes | Sekonic L-358 | Various studio accessories
EOS_JD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008   #9
Guanaco
 
JonathanSQ's Avatar
 
Location: DeLand, FL
Posts: 449
CamelKarma: 221
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop Bridge or Photoshop Lightroom

Honestly I like LR. I don't have/use Bridge (I have Photoshop CS so...).
The only downside is it will just barely run for me. I haven't the $$$ to
upgrade the RAM in my laptop. So I'm stuck at 512MB, 1/2 the minimum for LR.
But, still, it cuts plenty of time from my workflow even with that problem.
__________________
Canon EOS 350D/OPTech Strap | Canon EF-S 18-55mm | Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 MkII | Tamron 75-300mm
Bogen 679B Monopod | Misc. CF cards, filters, bags, laptop, software, etc.
Canon 420EX | Mpex.com Strobist Kit (SO1)
JWSquire.com - Home Page | The desire to learn
JonathanSQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008   #10
Camel Breath
 
jfrancho's Avatar
 
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 11,666
CamelKarma: 4939
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop Bridge or Photoshop Lightroom

Quote:
Originally Posted by EOS_JD View Post
As I don't use scripts very often, that is not something I've looked at. I just find Lr so much quicker - especially for 1000+ wedding images. Knocks hours off my workflow.
I guess. I didn't see anything that expedited my work flow. I use keyboard shortcuts and filters to flag and rate in Bridge. The time you spend importing a collection, Bridge spends creating the cache. They both seem the same on my system. Also, its about semantics. I am used to Asset management on a file level. We use tools like VSS and Version Cue at work to keep from clobbering each others' work, track progress, and other things. That bit of process management costs a bit in time, but for repeatable consistency, it can't be beat. That mentality permeates my personal organization as well. We also use Bridge to shuffle assets around from Photoshop to Dreamweaver to Illustrator to .NET Studio, and other programs, while tracking who's checked what in Cue or VSS, so I probably use Bridge a little differently and I am more familiar with it.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
<)))))><
jfrancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daily Photoshop Killer Tips with Photoshop Expert Matt Kloskowski Kevin Barrett Image Editing 1 01-12-2011 04:12 AM
Photoshop Lightroom Jose Image Editing 6 03-24-2007 02:09 PM
Photoshop Bridge Jose Computers and Software 3 03-04-2007 08:53 AM
Complimentary copy of Photoshop Lightroom is now available. Rense Image Editing 15 02-25-2007 02:53 AM
exif in Photoshop CS2/Adobe Bridge Sherry Young Computers and Software 1 09-16-2005 09:52 AM