Problem with search engines
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2007   #1
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Problem with search engines

When trying to use Google it won't let me, it says I have a spyware or something. This is a new PC and it's been checked by Ad-aware and it says my PC is clean. Now the same thing is happening to Yahoo search too. Had the same problem with the old laptop as well.

Have McAfee Security Center installed.

What do you think the reason for that and how can I correct it.

Thanks

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007   #2
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Administrator
 
Mr. Pickles's Avatar
 
Location: Old Folks Home
Posts: 23,267
CamelKarma: 6968994
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Problem with search engines

Again with no more info. Does it say what "spyware or something"? Can't you grab a screen shot?

Just because it is a new PC, doesn't mean it is free of embedded crap. Ad-aware isn't the only "anti-ad" program in the world. Try several if you don't know what "spy bit" you are looking for.
__________________
Olympus Full-time User
Olympus Passion Magazine
Idiot Savant AND trouble-maker...

PhotoCamel Helpful Info....
Posting Images Tutorial ... Posting and Critiquing? ... What's Camel Karma?
Mr. Pickles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007   #3
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Problem with search engines

I did try two programs in the laptop and it's clean too, but still problem with searching .

One of the reasons given by google is that the ISP has high traffic (or something like that). Is that possible.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007   #4
Photocamel Master
 
brian.austin's Avatar
 
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 7,875
CamelKarma: 10673
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Problem with search engines

I've never heard of these symptoms but I don't work on home PC's much anymore.

In addition to Adaware, I suggest Spybot S&D. When doing ANY scan, update the application with the latest signatures, reboot and go into Safe Mode (F8 on boot up, choose Safe Mode from the menu) and THEN do the scan. You'd be surprised at all the extra stuff it finds.

Do the same with a virus scan. It's possible that you have a trojan/bot installed. Just make sure the signatures are up to date before starting the process.
__________________
Diligentia, Vis, Celeritas
brian.austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007   #5
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Problem with search engines

Spybot S&D was the other program used in the laptop.

I'll try your suggestion, Brian. Thanks.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007   #6
Bactrian
 
notsotechie's Avatar
 
Location: Calgary-Alberta
Posts: 2,065
CamelKarma: 93884
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Problem with search engines

Also did yo do all updates for windowa os? you didnt say what version you are using.
Also I think the real culpture is Mcafee security center. Causing unecessary over portection.
did you run the virus scan throughly.
just a suggestion.
__________________
Have A Great Day Body Canon Rebel XTI - And a bag full of goodies.
notsotechie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007   #7
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Problem with search engines

Hi Notsotechie, long time no see.

It's a new XP pro SP2 and windows updated everything (in the OS) when first bought. Lots of updates.

Didn't do a virus scan so that's a good suggestion. Thanks.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007   #8
Alpaca
 
Posts: 23
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Problem with search engines

What browser are you using?

If IE7 check the security settings. Better yet download FireFox.
Phreestyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007   #9
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Problem with search engines

FireFox here.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PhotoCamel server problem or my problem? Uncle Frank Suggestions / Questions 5 02-18-2007 05:44 PM
Search crocker Suggestions / Questions 1 09-19-2006 11:03 AM
Search engines with a twist JDArt OT: Off-topic 1 09-18-2005 08:40 AM
Your favorite price comparison search engines JDArt OT: Off-topic 4 09-17-2005 12:21 PM