Batch resizing?
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2005   #1
Alpaca
 
Posts: 44
CamelKarma: 12
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Batch resizing?

Forgive me for being a total photo newbie, but I am. What's a good software for batch resizing photos? Can you do it with the Canon software- the Digital Photo Pro or EOS Viewer Util? Or is there a way to in Photoshop? Thanks, and I promise I'll ask harder questions later.

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005   #2
Llama
 
Alice Morrison's Avatar
 
Posts: 578
CamelKarma: 40
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Batch resizing?

That's a good question. I'll watch this thread. I don't know of anything, and I'd like to.

Welcome to the forum.
Alice Morrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005   #3
Alpaca
 
Posts: 47
CamelKarma: 26
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Batch resizing?

I don´t know about Canon programs, in Nikon View there is a batch for that, but you can always create an action in PS for that purpose.

Greets, Oikku
www.oikkus.com
__________________
Jaxonville kennel and Oikku´s DigiPic
www.oikkus.fi
www.oikkus.com
Oikku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005   #4
Alpaca
 
Posts: 22
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Batch resizing?

If you want to batch resize for printing - take a look at http://www.ddisoftware.com/qimage/ qimage. This is a superb printing utility - just dump all the files you wanted pringint, and it takes care of the resizing, final sharpening, multi shots per page etc. etc. etc.

Tim Gray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005   #5
Guanaco
 
bevilaquafoto's Avatar
 
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 276
CamelKarma: 2683
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Batch resizing?

I have a client who requires all of my images be sized to 5x7 at 350dpi....don't ask why. I shoot three to four hundred images for them in a full day. I use Photoshop CS2, but any photoshop will do this. You have to create an "action" where you open a picture, ask photoshop to create a new action, and then re-size the image as you would like it. You then tell Photoshop to batch process all of the photographs in a particular folder. Yes, it gets a little complicated, and I would be happy to help anyone who would like a walk-through. Photoshop actions can help you perform many many different kinds of processes on multiple photographs. For example if you wanted to create a contact sheet in photoshop there is an action for that. Or to resize, or sharpen a whole batch of images. I unfortunately do all this routinely in Photoshop. It gets easier as you get more experienced with it. I am not aware of any stand-alone program that will batch images in the way that photoshop does.
bevilaquafoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2005   #6
Alpaca
 
Posts: 9
CamelKarma: 12
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Batch resizing?

I just did one yesterday for a client. I recorded an action in Photoshop. As Lorenzo says, it gets a little complicated. You would think that checking the
box 'suppress color profile warnings' would do just that. but it didn't. So I left it unchecked on the second try, and the action flew through a hundred
plus images. Go figure. After four years of using Batch processes, I still don't know what's going on, sometimes. Maybe I should read the manual.
Breezebrowser has a wonderful email resizing, very fast. But it opens the email application and sends the resized images there, and I can't figure a way
to recapture them and put them in a folder. other than emailing the whole thing to myself, which isn't very practical.


Art
www.artsdigitalphoto.com
artrosch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2005   #7
Guanaco
 
bevilaquafoto's Avatar
 
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 276
CamelKarma: 2683
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Batch resizing?

I forgot to mention...you can e-mail directly out of Photo-Mechanic as well. Under "File" (mac only) you can select send photos via e-mail, and it will give you a choice of a few different sizes, and will resize as many photos as you select from the folder you are viewing. It automatically resizes the images for you, and e-mails them using your default e-mail client. The way to capture them for yourself is to go to your "sent" e-mail folder, look at the message, and simply save the attached images to your desktop. Be aware, however that your ISP may limit the number of megabytes you can e-mail at one time. i am limited to ten for some silly reason.
bevilaquafoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005   #8
Vicuna
 
Posts: 52
CamelKarma: 12
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Batch resizing?

Irfanview. www.irfanview.com Free.

(If you end up using it a lot send Irfan a few dollars. Great photo management program.)

To Resize your images...

Under 'File'
'Batch Conversion/Rename'
'Advanced Options'
'Preserve aspect ratio'
(If you desire, and you probably do.)
'Use resample'
(Better quality output.)
Set pixel size for the longest dimension.
'OK'

Add photos

(You will need to resize horizontal images separately from vertical images.)

'Copy input files to output directory'

I often create a sub-folder named something such as ‘xxx/1200’ inside the original ‘xxx’ folder.

'Start'

Then <Sharpen> your images, at least check the sharpening. It's generally needed after resizing.
__________________
A Workshop for Traveler/ Photographs<br /><br />http://www.jeber.com/Clubs/Blind-Pig/<br /><br />(We could use some more members.)
BobTrips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005   #9
Alpaca
 
Posts: 45
CamelKarma: 11
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Batch resizing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobTrips
Irfanview. www.irfanview.com Free.
I use Irfan a lot. Easy to use, fast, good quality resampler.
Sami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2005   #10
Llama
 
boristhemoggy's Avatar
 
Posts: 670
CamelKarma: 139
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Batch resizing?

Irfan view. Spend your money on toys for your camera, not on unnecessary software.
Any time you want anything go to SourceForge.net or one of the Freeware.com sites first.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
Canon 5D, Canon 5DSr, Canon 16-35 mm f/4 L USM EF, Canon 24-105 f/4.0 L USM IS EF, Tamron SP 24-70mm F/2.8 Di VC USD, Canon 70-200 f2.8 L MK II USM IS EF, Canon 100mm f2.8 USM EF macro, Canon 2x Mk III converter, Canon 580 EX II flash, Yonghuo 568EX II flash, Sigma EM-140 DG EO-ETTL Macro Flash, Manfrotto MT055CXPRO3 tripod with MHXPRO-BHQ2 ballhead. Manfrotto 790B Monopod.
boristhemoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch sharpening / USM aam1234 Image Editing 8 11-11-2011 09:24 PM
Batch resizing aam1234 Photography Talk 37 11-01-2009 09:58 AM
Help with Batch Processing Stormdancing Image Editing 3 10-25-2006 02:48 PM
Batch Michele Image Editing 10 09-05-2006 02:33 PM
Batch signature captlen Computers and Software 2 04-22-2006 02:10 AM