Photoshop CS5, 32 bit vs 64 bit
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2014   #1
Photocamel Master
 
Bill in Texas's Avatar
 
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 8,523
CamelKarma: 8899192
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Photoshop CS5, 32 bit vs 64 bit

Is there an advantage to running PS CS5 at 64 bit over 32 bit? I use Neat Image and couldn't get the plugin to embed in PS and found it is due to NI not being 64 bit.

Also, can PS CS5 be changed to 32 bit short of deactivating and uninstalling?

Thanks for any input.

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
https://billmorris.smugmug.com/

Sony gear
Bill in Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014   #2
Camel Breath
 
Stiga's Avatar
 
Location: Nr. Perth, Scotland
Posts: 19,338
CamelKarma: 43713362
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop CS5, 32 bit vs 64 bit

64-bit is faster.

More info here.

Martin
__________________
http://i544.photobucket.com/albums/h...ps79d51b0c.gif
http://i544.photobucket.com/albums/h...ps79d51b0c.gif
http://i544.photobucket.com/albums/h...ps79d51b0c.gif
Martin

Once photography enters your bloodstream, it is like a disease.

Software: Too numerous to list but my most used utility is ShiftN for perspective correction

Gear: Canon G12, no tripod, no lenses, no flash, no remote, no cases or bags!


Stiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014   #3
Photocamel Master
 
Bill in Texas's Avatar
 
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 8,523
CamelKarma: 8899192
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop CS5, 32 bit vs 64 bit

Thanks Martin. As to the other question, have to re-install to change to 32 bit?
__________________
https://billmorris.smugmug.com/

Sony gear
Bill in Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014   #4
F1 Camel
 
blumesan's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,040
CamelKarma: 661924
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop CS5, 32 bit vs 64 bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will in Tejas View Post
Thanks Martin. As to the other question, have to re-install to change to 32 bit?
If I remember correctly, when one installs PS5 (on a 64 bit O/S) both the 32 and 64 bit versions are installed simultaneously. I know this was the case with PS6. So you should have the option of which version to run in your Start Menu.
__________________
My Gallery
blumesan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014   #5
Vicuna
 
d90709's Avatar
 
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 101
CamelKarma: 482489
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop CS5, 32 bit vs 64 bit

CS5 on my computer installed both 32 bit and 64 bit versions of Photoshop (Windows 7).
d90709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014   #6
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
mistermonday's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,124
CamelKarma: 169270948
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop CS5, 32 bit vs 64 bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will in Tejas View Post
Thanks Martin. As to the other question, have to re-install to change to 32 bit?
CS5 installs both the 32 bit and the 64 bit versions. Your system is set to automatically start the 64 bit version. In order to use the 32 bit version, they make you work just a little. You need to go to C > Program Files (X86) > Adobe > Adobe Photoshop CS5. In that folder find the file Photoshop.exe and double click it. BUT you would be better to first create a Shortcut to store somewhere so next time you can just double click the shortcut or set it up as an item in your Start > Programs menu.
Cheers, Murray
mistermonday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014   #7
Camel Breath
 
Stiga's Avatar
 
Location: Nr. Perth, Scotland
Posts: 19,338
CamelKarma: 43713362
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop CS5, 32 bit vs 64 bit

If I remeber correctly, I was given a choice: both versions or just one. I chose to install CS6 64-bit only.

Matin
__________________
http://i544.photobucket.com/albums/h...ps79d51b0c.gif
http://i544.photobucket.com/albums/h...ps79d51b0c.gif
http://i544.photobucket.com/albums/h...ps79d51b0c.gif
Martin

Once photography enters your bloodstream, it is like a disease.

Software: Too numerous to list but my most used utility is ShiftN for perspective correction

Gear: Canon G12, no tripod, no lenses, no flash, no remote, no cases or bags!


Stiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014   #8
Photocamel Master
 
Bill in Texas's Avatar
 
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 8,523
CamelKarma: 8899192
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop CS5, 32 bit vs 64 bit

I'll take a look and see if both are installed. As mentioned in the OP this is for having Neat Image run inside of PS. Since moving to Canon I don't think I'll be using noise reduction as much so may just leave NI as a stand alone. Thanks for all the info.
__________________
https://billmorris.smugmug.com/

Sony gear
Bill in Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014   #9
F1 Camel
 
blumesan's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,040
CamelKarma: 661924
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop CS5, 32 bit vs 64 bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistermonday View Post
CS5 installs both the 32 bit and the 64 bit versions. Your system is set to automatically start the 64 bit version. In order to use the 32 bit version, they make you work just a little. You need to go to C > Program Files (X86) > Adobe > Adobe Photoshop CS5. In that folder find the file Photoshop.exe and double click it. BUT you would be better to first create a Shortcut to store somewhere so next time you can just double click the shortcut or set it up as an item in your Start > Programs menu.
Cheers, Murray
Not necessary if you are running Win7 (and probably Windows 8].
Just open your Start Menu. Both versions are directly available from there.
__________________
My Gallery
blumesan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014   #10
Photocamel Master
 
Bill in Texas's Avatar
 
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 8,523
CamelKarma: 8899192
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Photoshop CS5, 32 bit vs 64 bit

All mine shows is the 64 bit in the start menu.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
https://billmorris.smugmug.com/

Sony gear
Bill in Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes