Drobo 5D issues - Page 2
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2014   #11
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Drobo 5D issues

Very true. No matter how many ports one has, they all will be used eventually

As for the board, I found one locally, but it was obvious that it's cheaply made. Better stick with good companies.
__________________
It's all about light, my friend.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014   #12
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Drobo 5D issues

Gumper, I reached the USB controller somehow. Sure enough, there was a drive with yellow question mark. Should I uninstall its driver?
__________________
It's all about light, my friend.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014   #13
Llama
 
gumper's Avatar
 
Location: In the AZ sunshine.
Posts: 524
CamelKarma: 316487
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Drobo 5D issues

The yellow mark itself doesn't give you any valuable information but what it does do is confirm that a Device Manager error code has been generated. To fix whatever problem is going on, you'll need to view this code and troubleshoot accordingly.

A Question mark or Exclamation point may indicate an unknown device. Right click the unknown Device and select "Properties". Is there an error code listed?
gumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014   #14
Llama
 
gumper's Avatar
 
Location: In the AZ sunshine.
Posts: 524
CamelKarma: 316487
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Drobo 5D issues

Also, is the specific port named "Mass Storage Device" and is it greyed out when the Drobo is unplugged but fully visible when plugged it? You need to make sure what that port is controlling.
gumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014   #15
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Drobo 5D issues

Cheers, Gumper

Can't check right now as I'm using Drobo, but will as soon as possible (probably after the Superbowl. Go Broncos!).

Btw, in the pic below you can see the two USB 3.0 I have (Drobo is connected to one of them). Should I do something with them.
Attached Images
File Type: png USB.PNG (17.4 KB, 13 views)
__________________
It's all about light, my friend.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014   #16
Llama
 
gumper's Avatar
 
Location: In the AZ sunshine.
Posts: 524
CamelKarma: 316487
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Drobo 5D issues

where is the yellow question mark you were talking about?
gumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014   #17
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Drobo 5D issues

It disappeared after re-connecting Drobo. It was probably the 4th or 5th from the bottom.
__________________
It's all about light, my friend.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014   #18
Llama
 
gumper's Avatar
 
Location: In the AZ sunshine.
Posts: 524
CamelKarma: 316487
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Drobo 5D issues

when you have time, you need to pin point which port the Drobo is on. Restart the computer but leave the Drobo plugged in to get that error to show up again. Click on View at the top of the window and click on Show Hidden Devices.

Click on the port with the question mark to select that port. Unplug the Drobo now to see if that port gets greyed out.
gumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014   #19
Camel Breath
 
aam1234's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,848
CamelKarma: 820906
Editing OK?: No
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Drobo 5D issues

Thanks. But I'm working on photos right now so can't touch Drobo (Drobo is purely for photos). Will try as soon as possible, though.
__________________
It's all about light, my friend.
aam1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014   #20
Llama
 
gumper's Avatar
 
Location: In the AZ sunshine.
Posts: 524
CamelKarma: 316487
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Drobo 5D issues

If that is the port with the Drobo ( and it probably is) you should go to Properties to see what the error code is.

Most likely, you will uninstall from that port. Make sure the Drobo is unplugged just for safety.
After that, plug in the Drobo. It will automatically install its driver. If Drobo has issued an updated driver, you will install the new driver from the Device Manager as well.

Right click on that port again and choose "Update Driver Software". Navigate to the new downloaded driver and install it.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
gumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes