Agfa Duoscan HiD on Windows 7
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2013   #1
Vicuna
 
PaulT's Avatar
 
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 154
CamelKarma: 196
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Agfa Duoscan HiD on Windows 7

A friend has an Agfa Duoscan HiD working via a SCSI card on an old Windows XP PC. He needs to replace the PC and the new one will almost certainly be running WIndows 7 64-bit. Does anyone have experience with this scanner on Windows 7 64-bit? A Google search for drivers mainly goes to those "update all your drivers" sites which I tend to be very suspicious of. Keeping the old PC just for the scanner isn't really an option as he already has two PCs and not enough office space for more.

Thanks for any advice.

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
Paul Turner, South Woodham Ferrers, Essex, UK.
www.pwtphoto.com
PaulT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013   #2
Camel Breath
 
BambersImages's Avatar
 
Location: West country, UK.
Posts: 28,567
CamelKarma: 58394711
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Agfa Duoscan HiD on Windows 7

Not sure how it works for scanner drivers, but can you use the older software on the X86 part of Windows 7?
If you get Professional or above you can have 32 bit software on the X86 part and 64 bit software on the normal part.
__________________
Constructive C & C is very welcome.

BambersImages Flickr
Etsy Shop Print Sales

Life is too short to spend time with people who suck the happiness out of you.
“Happiness is a habit – cultivate it.” ~ Elbert Hubbar
A Camera puts a frame around life. ~ Joel Meyerowitz
BambersImages is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013   #3
Guanaco
 
Valdecus's Avatar
 
Location: Germany
Posts: 364
CamelKarma: 3937117
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Agfa Duoscan HiD on Windows 7

The question is whether the SCSI card still works under Windows 7 64-bit. If it does (and he might need a new driver for the SCSI card only), he can always use any scanning software that still supports the scanner, for example VueScan by Hamrick Software, which comes with its own driver:
Agfa Duoscan HiD Scanner Driver and Software | VueScan

Cheers
Andreas
Valdecus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013   #4
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Photocamel Master
 
zemlin's Avatar
 
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 6,826
CamelKarma: 7045525
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Agfa Duoscan HiD on Windows 7

From the AGFA site
Quote:
Agfa discontinued its consumer scanner product line (SnapScan, DuoScan, Arcus), as well as its digital camera product line (ePhoto, StudioCam) in September 2001. Therefore, we are no longer able to provide any support. Agfa does not keep digital cameras or scanners, nor spare parts for these products, in its stock. A number of companies (such as VueScan) offer drivers that should allow older scanners to work with recent operating systems.
... so they agree with Andreas
zemlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013   #5
Vicuna
 
PaulT's Avatar
 
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 154
CamelKarma: 196
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Agfa Duoscan HiD on Windows 7

Thanks guys. Some good thoughts there. The VueScan stuff looks interesting. I'd better check out SCSI cards suitable for Windows 7 64-bit too.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
Paul Turner, South Woodham Ferrers, Essex, UK.
www.pwtphoto.com
PaulT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes