New System
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2013   #1
Alpaca

CamelKarma: 24503
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default New System

Hi,

I just retired from the software industry so I finally have time to do some serious photography. I'm an amateur who has been at it for about 4 years now.

I've been struggling with a 32 bit system and a slow 64bit laptop. It got the point where reviewing and editing photos was too much pain so I decided to build my own system. Here's what I built (all purchased from NewEgg).

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor (Purchased For $219.99). This was a cost compromise but compared to my current 32bit Core 2 Quad Q6600 this thing ought to sing.
Motherboard: Asus Z77-A ATX LGA1155 Motherboard (Purchased For $114.99). This board had good reviews from the knowledgeable expert community (I discount whiners who bend pins and blame the board). And offered good bang for the buck. I am concerned about the paucity of USB 3.0 ports.
Memory: Crucial 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1333 Memory (Purchased For $99.99). Again a cost measure. The best I could achieve for the board would be DDR3-1600 which is not much of an increase if you ask me.
Storage: Kingston SSDNow V300 Series 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk (Purchased For $99.99). This unit was highly rated and received a number of awards. I will only be putting OS components and caching space for Lightroom and Photoshop on this drive.
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive (Purchased For $99.99). I'll probably RAID this with an identical model in the near future.