2 Terabytes for $79
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2010   #1
Camel Breath
 
JDArt's Avatar
 
Location: Far out
Posts: 23,701
CamelKarma: 2121022
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default 2 Terabytes for $79

Promo code SAMSUNG222 gets you a 2 TB Samsung drive at newegg.

Newegg.com - SAMSUNG Spinpoint F4 HD204UI 2TB 5400 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
Consider submitting your photography to Open Arts Forum.
JDArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010   #2
Alpaca
 
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 32
CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 2 Terabytes for $79

too bad its a 5400
ouscubagrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010   #3
Camel Breath
 
JDArt's Avatar
 
Location: Far out
Posts: 23,701
CamelKarma: 2121022
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 2 Terabytes for $79

Quote:
Originally Posted by ouscubagrad View Post
too bad its a 5400
It is. But for a server drive, I find it to be just fine.
__________________
Consider submitting your photography to Open Arts Forum.
JDArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010   #4
Bactrian
 
LibertyHeir's Avatar
 
Location: Willard Ohio
Posts: 2,104
CamelKarma: 92951
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 2 Terabytes for $79

Remarkable! I've told my son I can remember spending $1,500 for a 300MB SCSI to put in a server. Of course the server was a monster with a 386 processor and 4MB of ram! Guess I'm a dinosaur.
__________________
Dew

When all else fails, get a bigger hammer!
LibertyHeir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010   #5
Camel Breath
 
JDArt's Avatar
 
Location: Far out
Posts: 23,701
CamelKarma: 2121022
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 2 Terabytes for $79

Quote:
Originally Posted by LibertyHeir View Post
Remarkable! I've told my son I can remember spending $1,500 for a 300MB SCSI to put in a server. Of course the server was a monster with a 386 processor and 4MB of ram! Guess I'm a dinosaur.
LOL. The first computer I bought was an XT, and the 20 Megabyte hard drive was a $1,100 option!

The crazy thing is: I BOUGHT IT!

__________________
Consider submitting your photography to Open Arts Forum.
JDArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010   #6
Guanaco
 
JimInJersey's Avatar
 
Location: West Coast of Southern New Jersey, USA
Posts: 359
CamelKarma: 92484
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 2 Terabytes for $79

Quote:
Originally Posted by LibertyHeir View Post
Remarkable! I've told my son I can remember spending $1,500 for a 300MB SCSI to put in a server. Of course the server was a monster with a 386 processor and 4MB of ram! Guess I'm a dinosaur.
Dinosaur? Hah! I remember the very first hard disk available for the IBM PC - it was a 5 MEGABYTE "Winchester", as they called them back then. You could have one shipped right to your door for just $4995.00.

My first PC was a TRS-80 from Radio Shack in 1977 or thereabouts. 16K of RAM, a 40 column black and white screen, and a cassette tape interface. No floppy, no hard disk, and a Z-80 chip running at about 1/10th of a megaHertz.
JimInJersey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010   #7
Camel Breath
 
JDArt's Avatar
 
Location: Far out
Posts: 23,701
CamelKarma: 2121022
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 2 Terabytes for $79

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimInJersey View Post
My first PC was a TRS-80 from Radio Shack in 1977 or thereabouts. 16K of RAM, a 40 column black and white screen, and a cassette tape interface. No floppy, no hard disk, and a Z-80 chip running at about 1/10th of a megaHertz.
And what did you do with it--both when you used it and subsequently?
__________________
Consider submitting your photography to Open Arts Forum.
JDArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010   #8
Camel Breath
 
Mira's Avatar
 
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Posts: 11,869
CamelKarma: 937083
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 2 Terabytes for $79

My Trash-80 became a great paperweight
Mira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010   #9
Guanaco
 
JimInJersey's Avatar
 
Location: West Coast of Southern New Jersey, USA
Posts: 359
CamelKarma: 92484
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 2 Terabytes for $79

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDArt View Post
And what did you do with it--both when you used it and subsequently?
It came with what was called "RS Level II Basic" - I taught myself how to program a little bit with it, there was also a RAM-based database program that I used to track real estate sales and other stuff like that. You loaded the program and data off a cassette tape each time you used it.

I used the machine for about two years or so, if I remember, then I gave it to a friend of mine and he played with it for about another half dozen years.

I bought my next PC in the mid-80s, it was a PC's Limited (e.g. Dell) AT-class machine running an Intel 80286 at 12mHz, which back then was a real speed demon. The IBM AT using the same chip ran at 6 mHz. I think I splurged and got a Megabyte of RAM. Those were the days when you could create a "ram disk" in memory above the 640K line (boy, does anyone remember THAT?...). Running MS-DOS 2.something. This was just before the IBM PS/2 came out with VGA displays , which changed the rules in terms of graphics. Prior to the 256-color VGA, you had just 16 colors.

I believe I paid about $3,000 for the PC's Limited.
JimInJersey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010   #10
Vicuna
 
Location: NW Wyoming
Posts: 59
CamelKarma: 21
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 2 Terabytes for $79

This same PC-Limited machine was my second computer, replacing my original VIC-20 from Commodore. The VIC-20 stored programs and data on cassette tapes, so the 20 MB drive on the PC-limited was unbelievable.

Today, I store my images on two 2TB WD MyBook drives. Each unit has two independent 1TB drives that are set up as a RAID. Thus, each photo image gets saved twice, once on each of the twined 1TB drives. If one of the drives crashes, then I've always got the other. And of course, I'm paranoid about losing my photos, so I have the 2TB drive mirrored at another physical location. I'm a big fan of redundant saving and I would only consider putting my images on a single 2 TB drive if I had a way of duplicating the storage. Saving money is always second to saving my images.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
alpineguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Computers and Software »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTMQ # 79 dryadsdad Guess the Movie Quote! 3 10-22-2009 09:14 AM
Guess the Movie #79 BrianS Guess the Movie! 6 08-01-2008 06:43 PM
GTF #79 Danlphot Guess the Face! 4 06-29-2008 07:22 AM
Speed Challenge #79 KennyC Speed Challenges 16 02-08-2007 08:56 AM
Guess the close up #79 CI Photography Guess the Close-up! 20 05-10-2006 11:02 AM