Is the Sony H300 as bad as I saw?
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Compact Camera

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2017   #1
Vicuna

CamelKarma: 329470
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Is the Sony H300 as bad as I saw?

Had a Sony DSC-H300 from a friend for over two hours. I did not shoot in daylight, but indoor shots proved to be messy and noisy with no sharp focus and a tremendous lack of detail. Is that what this camera is supposed to be? Has anyone tried it? I got crisper shots even with a 5-megapixel Polaroid. I dare not post any image. I'd like to know if the rest of Sony is as bad as this one. I've never used Sony before.

Old 12-11-2017   #2
Camel Breath

CamelKarma: 1469207
Default Re: Is the Sony H300 as bad as I saw?

Too bad you elected not to post an image with an EXIF header.

That said, the DSC-H300 is a "bridge" camera of 2014 vintage design with a 1/2.3" 20-MPix CCD imager and an especially long zoom range. Considering the small size of the imager and the corresponding small size of the individual pixels, I would not expect this particular model to be an especially good low-light performer. If the imager has been forced to operate at especially high ISO, say anything above 400, I would expect results such as you describe, especially if you "pixel peep." This is generally true of imagers of this size - they just don't have the low-light capability of cameras with larger imagers as dSLRs and "mirrorless" cameras do. They work much better outside in daylight, where the ISO can be kept low and still provide reasonably short exposure times. The blurriness, especially if it is patchy, could be an artifact of the in-camera noise reduction necessary for images taken at high ISO.