Can dust get on the sensor of a PS camera ?
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Compact Camera

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2016   #1
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 42,558
CamelKarma: 44246244
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Can dust get on the sensor of a PS camera ?

I went to Cleethorpe, a seaside resort. I used Canon SX50 & took 6 shots. The first & the fifth shots show what in a dslr I would assume dust. Other four did not show. An example is below

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Cleethorpe_160723-01.JPG (94.9 KB, 19 views)
__________________
gautam
Gautam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016   #2
F1 Camel
 
Golem's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,791
CamelKarma: 683702
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Can dust get on the sensor of a PS camera ?

Thaz a wide angle shot and prolly
a small aperture for a sunny day.

Dust CAN somehow get in but it's
possibly on the front of the lens.

Maintaining a small aperture and
the max wide angle, focus to the
near limit and see if the spots get
somewhat more distinct .... they
won't actually get sharp, just less
fuzzy, if they're on the lens.

If there's a filter, just rotate it in
place about a 1/4 turn and see if
the spots move.

If you can't prove them to be on
the front glass then they must be
on the sensor.
Golem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016   #3
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 42,558
CamelKarma: 44246244
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Can dust get on the sensor of a PS camera ?

Thanks very much. I shall clean the front element & try again with small aperture & wide angle. Have no filter on the lens.
__________________
gautam
Gautam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016   #4
F1 Camel
 
Golem's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,791
CamelKarma: 683702
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Can dust get on the sensor of a PS camera ?

If the front element rotates when focusing you
can use that to see if they move. Do remember
to compare near focus limit to infinity focus. If
the stuff is on the front glass, it gets a bit more
distinct by focusing closer.
Golem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016   #5
F1 Camel
 
Golem's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,791
CamelKarma: 683702
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Can dust get on the sensor of a PS camera ?

BTW, I really like the scene as rendered, and I like it
more with less sky, sorta just hinting toward a pano,
kinda like the "letterbox" or 9x16 formats for cine. A
crop like that removes about half the spots, so you'll
have less work to clean up the sky, which is worth it,
assuming the pic is clear enuf to stand printing. Can't
tell about that on-screen from the small file size that
the forum allows.

I was just test cropping by moving the margins of my
browser window. Losing half the sky, and just a small
bit of foreground resulting in a 2:1 pano, that looked
really good as well. There's great potential here.
Golem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016   #6
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 42,558
CamelKarma: 44246244
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Can dust get on the sensor of a PS camera ?

Thanks for the comments & advice


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
gautam
Gautam is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Compact Camera »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes