Photographng Firearms
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Photography by Genre: Critique and Discussion > Commercial

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2013   #1
Vicuna

CamelKarma: 114889
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Photographng Firearms

First off I just wanted to thank all of you professionals that give your time and advice so freely on this forum. It really blew me away when I saw the depth some of you go to to help others. Truly humbling...

I was asked by a friend if I'd take some pictures of one of his handguns. It ended up being a two tone which caused me some problems with hilights. I've never done "product" shots before so how would you folks have handled this shot?

P.S. All firearms were proven safe prior to handling.

Sunstruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013   #2
Camel Breath

CamelKarma: 1206139
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: Photographng Firearms

You've got nice lighting here, really smooth. I think I'd have experimented with a couple of things: 1.) I'd have flipped the pistol over. The magazine release button and the slide lock lever would be interesting components. 2.) I'd have changed the tilt.