better wedding tele lens
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Canon

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2006   #1
Alpaca

CamelKarma: 11
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default better wedding tele lens

hi! this is my first time to post here. i'm trying t look for a 70 - 200 range tele for indoor weddings (candids & tight shots) haven't tried being the principal shooter ( i feel i'm not ready yet) i usually back up for a friend of mine. my options are:

1. canon 70 - 200 4L
2. Sigma 70 - 200 2.8

i chose these two because they're the ones within my budget. hope you guys can help me out here.

thanks in advance
cleng

Old 02-16-2006   #2
Bob
Vicuna

CamelKarma: 15
Default Re: better wedding tele lens

While I love my Canon 70-200 4 I think you might be better served by the brighter Sigma inside a church. The only thing I would want to check out on the Sigma is its weight, it looks to be a big lens but not having held one I can't say for sure.

Bob
Old 02-16-2006   #3
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Administrator

CamelKarma: 6968994

From looking and testing both, I came to the conclusion that the Canon you mentioned is a tad better at all ranges than the Sigma. To me, that is at the 70mm end, both ends of the aperture range, and at the 200mm end, with both ends of the aperture range.

I have heard that the Sigma will have a tad bit more flare too, but I didn't see a difference, but I was scientific either. Also, the Canon will auto focus faster than the Sigma too, but that is usually the case with the dedicated lenses vs the 3rd parties.

The Canon weighs about 1.5lbs, while the Sigma is near 3lbs. The Sigma is about $200 more too. Of course, the Sigma is a LOT cheaper than teh Canon 2.8 version.