Canon XTi vs Nikon D80 vs Pentax K10D
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Canon

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2006   #1
Alpaca

CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Canon XTi vs Nikon D80 vs Pentax K10D

Hi guys,

Recently I've received a bonus at work so now I've got $2000 CAN "to spare", and I'm going to spend it on photographic equipment. Before I make any final decisions I'd welcome your advice.

Shooting with Canon film camera I've been an amateur photographer for a few years. I've always been very impressed with the results that Canon delivers, but as the price of film work has rocketed, I've been shooting less and less in order to keep my costs down. Not one to jump blindly into anything, I've been researching digital photography for the last two years, looking at things from both artistic and scientific standpoints (as well as keeping on top of any new models that come on the market). When I began considering what camera to get, my focus was on the Canon 10D, since then however I've seen two new generations of models come and go. Aside from my film equipment, at the moment I only own a compact digital camera (not DSLRs).

I guess you could consider me an advanced amateur, therefore my needs are quite substantial, but my budget is on the smaller side considering that I don't need to live off of photography.
In particular I love to photograph People, Fashion and Glamour but also Events, Still Life, and some landscapes.

I've been considering three cameras: Canon XTi, Nikon D80 and Pentax K10D. Here follows my considerations, please give me your advice on these possible choices.

Canon EOS XTi
============