I need help BAD!
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Camera Accessories

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2014   #1
Vicuna

CamelKarma: 326807
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default I need help BAD!

I recently got a Canon Rebel XS I know I can use my fathers lens from his Canon AE-1 which is 35mm camera. I need to know that mount to buy for this camera so I can use those lens? Thank you all in advanced

Old 04-24-2014   #2
d_rem

CamelKarma:
Default Re: I need help BAD!

I'm no expert on this so take it for what it's worth. The mount on your camera and that of your fathers are different so obviously an adaptor will be needed. I think that is what you are asking about. The other thing is even if you get an adaptor the lenses will likely not work in terms of auto focus and lord knows what else. I hope someone with more knowledge than I will help out. You may want to take your camera and the lenses you want to use to your local camera store ( not a big box like Best Buy... a real camera store) and have them help out. Just a thought
Old 04-24-2014   #3
Llama

CamelKarma: 3178128
Editing OK?: Ask First

You need a FD to EF adapter. There are a couple of different ones out there, most under $30.

One has no glass in it, and is good for most things, but will not focus to infinity. If you're planning to do landscapes where you want the horizon line sharp with it, that can be a problem, but portraits and things closer will work out well.