PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
Photo of the Week Photo of the Week

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Sony

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2011   #1
Alpaca

zankej is on a distinguished road
CamelKarma: 10
Default Can the a230 'release without lens'?

Hello all,

I am very new at photography and was considering buying a manual lens for my a230 since the price was right for what I wanted. I was reading reviews that say you have to set the shutter to release without lens, but I don't know how to do this.
Is it possible? I've gone over the manual and googled endlessly to try and find out if I can, but I haven't found a thing regarding it.
So, can I do this and how?

Thanks in advance.

Old 09-22-2011   #2
Vicuna

NeilG has much to be proud ofNeilG has much to be proud ofNeilG has much to be proud ofNeilG has much to be proud ofNeilG has much to be proud ofNeilG has much to be proud ofNeilG has much to be proud ofNeilG has much to be proud ofNeilG has much to be proud ofNeilG has much to be proud ofNeilG has much to be proud of
CamelKarma: 7562
Editing OK?: Ask first
Default Re: Can the a230 'release without lens'?

According to this document - a230 manual - http://pdf.crse.com/manuals/4147790121.pdf

No lens attached. Shutter is
locked.
• The lens is not attached properly,
or the lens is not attached.
• When attaching the camera to an
astronomical telescope or
something similar, set the
recording mode to M.

Then setting camera to manual will work
http://www.purestorm.com/imagineers
NeilG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011   #3
Alpaca

Setting the camera to manual focus will allow it to work?
Sorry, like I said I am VERY new at all of this.
zankej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011   #4
Vicuna