PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
Photo of the Week Photo of the Week

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Photography by Genre: Critique and Discussion > Portraits

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2011   #1
Alpaca

driffert is just really nicedriffert is just really nicedriffert is just really nicedriffert is just really nicedriffert is just really nice
CamelKarma: 457
Default Critique my Portrait Work

I am an amateur photographer who wants to get into portrait/senior photography when I retire from accounting. Below is a link to my website. I would appreciate any constructive feedback.

I currently use my Nikon D80 with the Nikkor 50mm 1.8 lens for studio portraits and the 18-135mm Nikkor for outdoor shots. I use an Alien Bees B800 reflected into umbrella as my primary light and a Nikon SB-600 with diffuser as a secondary. I use a manual flash to light the background. I set my camera on RAW, with 100 ISO, around f4 and whatever shutter speed it takes to obtain correct exposure using the camera’s histogram. I use a Manfrotto tripod and Cybersync remotes to trigger the flash.

I feel I’m doing well with one or two subjects but find it more difficult to get the lighting right with larger groups. I know I also need more experience in posing. Any help and comments would be appreciated.

Riffert Riverview Studio | Portraits

Denny Riffert
Newburgh, IN

Old 09-06-2011   #2
Bactrian