Shooting the Milky Way
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
Photos of the Week Photos of the Week

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > PhotoCamel Lounge > Photography Talk

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2016   #1
Vicuna

CamelKarma: 434971
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Shooting the Milky Way

I am headed to the woods in southern Iowa to not only deer hunt, but to also try and get some shots of the Milky Way. I look at

DarkSiteFinder.com - Light Pollution Map

and it looks like my area is still somewhat polluted, but am hoping the trees surrounding my campsite will filter a lot of the pollution out.

This is my first time trying to shoot the Milky Way and if anyone has tips, please share them!

Old 10-25-2016   #2
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Bactrian

CamelKarma: 399614
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: Shooting the Milky Way

Unless you have a way of tracking the stars during a long exposure, a fast wide angle or normal lens is perhaps the best choice for photographing the Milky Way. Some fast lenses aren't ideal for clean star images when used wide open. Experiment. Des Moines, Omaha, and the cities around SE Iowa will have an effect within many miles of you. I'm about 70 miles from Kansas City and in a fairly dark area according to the light pollution map, but KC wipes out any hopes of good star capture in that direction. Perhaps it is Des Moines, 125 miles to my north that contributes to the glow on the horizon, perhaps more of it is from intervening towns.
Jim Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016   #3
Vicuna

Here is my first attempt.....

Megookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016   #4
Photocamel Master

CamelKarma: 1367693