PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
PhotoCamel Directory Photo of the Week Photo of the Week
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Nikon Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2009   #1
Vicuna
 
Location: Gilroy, CA USA
Posts: 53
hennysr is just really very very nicehennysr is just really very very nicehennysr is just really very very nicehennysr is just really very very nicehennysr is just really very very nicehennysr is just really very very nicehennysr is just really very very nicehennysr is just really very very nicehennysr is just really very very nicehennysr is just really very very nicehennysr is just really very very nice
CamelKarma: 39355
Editing OK?: Ask first
Default D90 Auto bracket

A friend of mine just bought a D90 and is interested in doing some HDR work and is using the auto bracket feature, but has to trigger each shot seperately. Is there a way to have it shoot all 3 pictures automatically? I know that Canon has this feature, but we have not been able to find this on the D90.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
hennysr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009   #2
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Llama
 
icuttl's Avatar
 
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 545
icuttl is just really very very niceicuttl is just really very very niceicuttl is just really very very niceicuttl is just really very very niceicuttl is just really very very niceicuttl is just really very very niceicuttl is just really very very niceicuttl is just really very very niceicuttl is just really very very niceicuttl is just really very very niceicuttl is just really very very nice
CamelKarma: 44040
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: D90 Auto bracket

Set your shooting mode to continuous mode and setup your auto bracketing, then just hold the shutter release down until the camera takes all three shots.

Page 94 of the owner's manual under Exposure and Flash Bracketing talks about this.
__________________
Don G.
All Nikon

Last edited by icuttl; 12-10-2009 at 12:47 PM.. Reason: Added reference to owner's manual.
icuttl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009   #3
Dromedary
 
shadowlands's Avatar
 
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,602
shadowlands is just really very very niceshadowlands is just really very very niceshadowlands is just really very very niceshadowlands is just really very very niceshadowlands is just really very very niceshadowlands is just really very very niceshadowlands is just really very very niceshadowlands is just really very very niceshadowlands is just really very very niceshadowlands is just really very very niceshadowlands is just really very very nice
CamelKarma: 64411
Editing OK?: Ask first
Default Re: D90 Auto bracket

Quote:
Originally Posted by hennysr View Post
A friend of mine just bought a D90 and is interested in doing some HDR work and is using the auto bracket feature, but has to trigger each shot seperately. Is there a way to have it shoot all 3 pictures automatically? I know that Canon has this feature, but we have not been able to find this on the D90.
Yes, the D90 can do exposure auto bracketing with ease. I use it often myself. I wish I could walk you through it, but my D90 isn't by my side currently. But yes, it does have auto bracketing. I have mine set to automatically shoot three shots (when activated). +2, 0, and -2.
__________________
Nikon D700 FX
Nikon AF-S 28-70 F2.8D
Nikon AF 80-200 F2.8D
Nikon AF 20mm F2.8D
Nikon AF 50mm F1.8D
Nikon SB-800, SB-400 & Nikon MB-D10
Bogen-Manfrotto 3001/3265/3016/234rc
Lowepro Slingshot 302 & Stroboframe 350
“Lowepro Preferred Photographer”
www.flickr.com/photos/dbdigital/
shadowlands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009   #4
Vicuna
 
Location: Smithville ON Canada
Posts: 164
NikonMarty has a spectacular aura aboutNikonMarty has a spectacular aura about
CamelKarma: 171
Editing OK?: No
Default Re: D90 Auto bracket

sounds like you're after the same thing i am...have numerous bracketed shots taken simultaneously with one click of the trigger
look forward to a positive response
__________________
NIKON D700 w/MBD10 : 2 x NIKON D80 w/MB-D80
Nikkor f/24-70 2.8 : Nikkor 70-200VR f/2.8 : Nikkor 50 f/1.4D & 1.8/1.8 Ai-s : Nikkor 85 f/1.4D & 85 f/1.8 : TC-17E II : 4 x SB 800 : 1 x SB 900 : 3 x PW PlusII
LensBaby Composer + 3-lens kit : Sigma 10-20 : Sigma 30 f/1.4 : Sigma 70-300 APO Macro : Epson P3000
Cokin P-series : iMac Intel - 24" / CaptureNX / CS3 Suite / Lightroom 2 / PSE4
Knowledge (or is it memories) regarding a whole bunch of equipment my ex-wife took with her when she left
NikonMarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009   #5
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Llama
 
TimBlodgett's Avatar
 
Location: Canada
Posts: 521
TimBlodgett is a splendid one to beholdTimBlodgett is a splendid one to beholdTimBlodgett is a splendid one to beholdTimBlodgett is a splendid one to beholdTimBlodgett is a splendid one to beholdTimBlodgett is a splendid one to beholdTimBlodgett is a splendid one to beholdTimBlodgett is a splendid one to beholdTimBlodgett is a splendid one to beholdTimBlodgett is a splendid one to beholdTimBlodgett is a splendid one to behold
CamelKarma: 3607
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: D90 Auto bracket

It was already mentioned but I'll mention it again. Set the cameras drive mode to continuous.
TimBlodgett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009   #6
KmH
F1 Camel
 
KmH's Avatar
 
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 3,599
KmH has much to be proud ofKmH has much to be proud ofKmH has much to be proud ofKmH has much to be proud ofKmH has much to be proud ofKmH has much to be proud ofKmH has much to be proud ofKmH has much to be proud ofKmH has much to be proud ofKmH has much to be proud ofKmH has much to be proud of
CamelKarma: 6932
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: D90 Auto bracket

And being an entry-level Nikon, the D90 can only do a maximum of 3 auto brackets at a time (the minimum for making HDR exposures), whereas a D300/D300s can do 9 auto brackets at a time.
__________________
... Keith ...

"If you keep on doing what you have always done, you will keep on getting what you have always gotten."
KmH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009   #7
Vicuna
 
Drock's Avatar
 
Location: San Jose
Posts: 182
Drock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armor
CamelKarma: 132199
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: D90 Auto bracket

I've tried this (putting the camera in continuous mode) and I still can not get the camera to take "all three" shots with one push of the shutter release. If I hold the release down it will go through the bracket steps but not by it self. Is that the only way to get all three shots at once?

Thanks in advance...
Drock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009   #8
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Photocamel Master
 
cyclohexane's Avatar
 
Location: SARATOGA, Calif., USA
Posts: 9,397
cyclohexane strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorcyclohexane strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorcyclohexane strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorcyclohexane strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorcyclohexane strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorcyclohexane strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorcyclohexane strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorcyclohexane strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorcyclohexane strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorcyclohexane strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorcyclohexane strides over the forum like a knight in shining armor
CamelKarma: 1064731
Editing OK?: No
Default Re: D90 Auto bracket

Quote:
Is that the only way to get all three shots at once?
Yes, you need to hold down the shutter release.
__________________
-Michael
Nikon 1 & Apple iPhone 4
Find me on the web: Michael Chen Photo |Blog ("coming soon" since before the dinosaurs roamed the Earth)|SportsShooter | California Wildlife
cyclohexane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009   #9
Vicuna
 
Drock's Avatar
 
Location: San Jose
Posts: 182
Drock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armor
CamelKarma: 132199
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: D90 Auto bracket

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclohexane View Post
Yes, you need to hold down the shutter release.
Thank you! That's the answer I was seeking.
Drock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010   #10
Vicuna
 
Drock's Avatar
 
Location: San Jose
Posts: 182
Drock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorDrock strides over the forum like a knight in shining armor
CamelKarma: 132199
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: D90 Auto bracket

Well I was playing around yesterday and if you set the self timer to "on" and the number of shots (same screen) to three, then turn on Auto Bracket you can have the D90 take all three shots in the bracket with one push of the shutter release, eliminating some the of worry about camera shake or movement.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
Drock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Nikon Forum »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bracket Fungi Frogstar Nature, Wildlife 7 12-18-2009 12:16 AM
Using a flash-bracket... stevedunster Lighting and Technique 10 04-29-2009 02:32 AM
Bracket fungi Gautam Macro and Close-up Photography 1 10-27-2008 01:05 AM
Do you use a bracket? fruler Weddings 27 05-30-2008 12:51 PM
Flash Bracket, what do you think of it? Song4themoon Camera Accessories Forum 9 07-03-2007 09:26 PM