PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
Photo of the Week Photo of the Week

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > The Photographer > Lighting and Technique

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012   #1
Alpaca

steve126a is on a distinguished road
CamelKarma: 10
Default Studio lighting newbie with barebones setup

I work as a graphic designer for a newspaper. We have small studio in the building that rarely gets used. Sometimes I'm often asked to take photos for ads or promos as part of my advertising department duties. Our studio setup is kinda bare. We have two old White Lightning lights. One has a softbox attached, the other has the flag doors thing. We don't have any backdrops, just a semi-white wall.

I was given the task of shooting some very informal portraits of some of the writers/reporters for a promotional ad series that we are running. I was given a "crash course" in how to operate the actual lights by one of our journalistic photographers. The only "lighting theory" has been what I've been able to glean off of this and other websites.

For the below portraits, I arranged a very basic setup. The main light (softbox) to camera left illuminating the subject. The other light was to camera right, aimed at the wall to try to "blow out" the background. Let me know what you guys think and anything you can think of that might make these any better.

Old 11-11-2012   #2
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
F1 Camel