RAW vs. RAW + small jpeg (simple question, please help)
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
Photos of the Week Photos of the Week

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Image Editing

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2008   #1
Vicuna

CamelKarma: 546
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default RAW vs. RAW + small jpeg (simple question, please help)

I just started shooting RAW with my Canon 40D. I convert to DNG, then open the DNG in ACR, then directly to PSE 6.0 for further tweaks and/or resizing to jpeg. Problem is, when I convert to DNG, and put in a folder in "my pictures", I can not see the images, just the blue/white DNG icon. What I have been doing is choosing about 5-8 DNG files at a time and opening them into ACR, where I can then see the images. When I click on the individual images on the left, it opens in the main window of ACR where I can see if the image is worth post processing. This takes A LOT of my time. I miss shooting jpeg because at least then I could see all the images once I loaded them into a "my pictures" folder. Am I missing something simple, or should I be shooting RAW + small jpeg so I would have an image (rather than just an icon) in the "my pictures" folder? I just started shooting in RAW an assume there is an easier way than what I am doing. I am going to Alaska Thursday and fear coming home the following week and downloading 600-800 DNG files without being able to see the images. Is there an easier way to see the images? Thanks for any help.

Old 05-18-2008   #2
Bactrian

CamelKarma: 3876
Editing OK?: Ask first
Default Re: RAW vs. RAW + small jpeg (simple question, please help)