Lightroom - Blending Images (HDR-like)
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Image Editing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2008   #1
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Administrator
 
Mr. Pickles's Avatar
 
Location: Old Folks Home
Posts: 23,276
CamelKarma: 6968994
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Lightroom - Blending Images (HDR-like)

Timothy Armes has a useful plug-in to Lightroom for those wanting to play with blending multiple exposures (HDR-like?) from inside Lightroom itself.

Here is what he says on his site ( Timothy Armes Photography ):
LR/Enfuse is a Lightroom plug-in that provides a convenient interface onto the open source Enfuse application, which provides excellent blending of multiple exposures of the same scene into one final image.

Since this is open source stuff, it comes with some downside. Notable in my opinion is the installation. It is a two part deal.

First you need to get and install LR/Enfuse itself. You can get that file here:
http://timothyarmes.com/lrenfuse/LREnfuse.lrplugin.zip

When you unzip it, unzip it to the applicate place listed below:
On a Mac, copy the plug-in to: ~/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Lightroom/Modules
or
/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Lightroom/Modules


On Windows XP, copy the plug-in to:
C:\Documents and Users\username\Application Data\Adobe\Lightroom\Modules

On Windows Vista, copy the plug-in to:
C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Lightroom\ Modules

NEXT, you need to download and install "Enfuse" itself and "Align_Image_Stack" (both open source files). If you install to the default location, LR will find them. You can get them here:
Mac OS (DMG file): http://timothyarmes.com/lrenfuse/Enf...ImageStack.dmg
Windows: http://timothyarmes.com/lrenfuse/enb...0226_setup.exe

Install the above accordingly...

Now Open Lightroom. If you select a couple or three versions of an image file (virtual copies work too), that have different exposures (-1, 0, +1 or whatever), and then hit "File - Blend Exposures Using LR/Enfuse", it will open up a multi-tabbed dialog and then it will do its thing behind the scenes....

Interesting deal and hopefully more to come on this and other "embedded" tools for Lightroom.

NOTE: In the initial trial of this, you will only be able to create an image that is 500 pixels on the long side. Donations can be made to make that size as big as your initial files. No limit on the donation, so use your own judgment.

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
Olympus Full-time User
Olympus Passion Magazine
Idiot Savant AND trouble-maker...

PhotoCamel Helpful Info....
Posting Images Tutorial ... Posting and Critiquing? ... What's Camel Karma?
Mr. Pickles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008   #2
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
Jason Hermann's Avatar
 
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 11,111
CamelKarma: 61045
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Lightroom - Blending Images (HDR-like)

This is awesome!! I will certainly look into this ASAP

Thanks Mr. P

Best,
Jay
__________________
Using mostly Sony Alpha gear these days , but also have the Canon 5D Mark II and L Lenses

SonyAlphaLab.com
Now On Google+




Jason Hermann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008   #3
Dromedary
 
Latinbob's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,277
CamelKarma: 788
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Lightroom - Blending Images (HDR-like)

Cool stuff, Pickles. I got it installed and it works like magic.

Bob
Latinbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008   #4
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Administrator
 
Mr. Pickles's Avatar
 
Location: Old Folks Home
Posts: 23,276
CamelKarma: 6968994
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Lightroom - Blending Images (HDR-like)

Yup. The "blend" does a pretty good job too. I'll have to play a few more times and then donate to get the ability to make a big file.

No tone-mapping like the big boys, but that is what Lightroom is for...
__________________
Olympus Full-time User
Olympus Passion Magazine
Idiot Savant AND trouble-maker...

PhotoCamel Helpful Info....
Posting Images Tutorial ... Posting and Critiquing? ... What's Camel Karma?
Mr. Pickles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008   #5
Camel Breath
 
Kellycat's Avatar
 
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Posts: 12,098
CamelKarma: 12247602
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Lightroom - Blending Images (HDR-like)

Thanks Mr. Pickles ... I gave the software a try and it definitely worked, but it gives very little realtime control over the blending process. Hopefully this is just a first step in getting some useful LR plugins. I had several errors in attempts to use the plugins after my first successful try and that may be due to operator error or my not reverting back to LR v. 1.3 from LR v. 1.4. which seems to be having some issues. I attempted to make a donation, but found that I was being asked to give my Paypal username and password on what appeared to be an insecure page. I'm a computer retard, so I'm not sure. It is always fun to play with new toys and I'm happy I was able to get as far as I did playing with the software. I'm sure Jason will give us a much better assessment than I have been able to make.
__________________
Kellycat
Kellycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008   #6
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Administrator
 
Mr. Pickles's Avatar
 
Location: Old Folks Home
Posts: 23,276
CamelKarma: 6968994
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Lightroom - Blending Images (HDR-like)

I found that on the Enfuse tab of the Dialog, you can set some sliders that do make a difference. There is no realtime preview or ability to change the look of the blends on the fly, but I'm not finding that an issue...yet...?

I checked the Preview every change option on that tab, and I have no idea what the heck it was doing, so I canceled it and unchecked that thing. Won't use it again until I know what it was doing.
__________________
Olympus Full-time User
Olympus Passion Magazine
Idiot Savant AND trouble-maker...

PhotoCamel Helpful Info....
Posting Images Tutorial ... Posting and Critiquing? ... What's Camel Karma?
Mr. Pickles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008   #7
Camel Breath
 
Kellycat's Avatar
 
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Posts: 12,098
CamelKarma: 12247602
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Lightroom - Blending Images (HDR-like)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Pickles View Post
I found that on the Enfuse tab of the Dialog, you can set some sliders that do make a difference. There is no realtime preview or ability to change the look of the blends on the fly, but I'm not finding that an issue...yet...?

I checked the Preview every change option on that tab, and I have no idea what the heck it was doing, so I canceled it and unchecked that thing. Won't use it again until I know what it was doing.
That is my take too. Mine started throwing errors after I moved the sliders and, as I mentioned in my other post, what I experienced could well be my fault.
__________________
Kellycat
Kellycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008   #8
Vicuna
 
kentax's Avatar
 
Posts: 73
CamelKarma: 29
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Lightroom - Blending Images (HDR-like)

thank you for the links! will give it a go this week.
__________________

|DA21/3.2|DA70/2.4|FA50/1.4|DA18-55|Tamron70-300|A50/2|M50/1.7|

kentax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008   #9
Guanaco
 
guyfromtor's Avatar
 
Location: Canada
Posts: 387
CamelKarma: 77496
Editing OK?: Ask first
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Lightroom - Blending Images (HDR-like)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kellycat View Post
That is my take too. Mine started throwing errors after I moved the sliders and, as I mentioned in my other post, what I experienced could well be my fault.
Mine is also throwing errors after the first time use and I didn't move any sliders. I dont remember the exact error but something to the effect it couldn't decode the raw file or something like that.

I'm sure in time it will be fixed and certainly a good plugin
__________________
I am what I am because of who we all are
guyfromtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008   #10
Llama
 
waple's Avatar
 
Posts: 743
CamelKarma: 594
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: Lightroom - Blending Images (HDR-like)

I'm not having luck getting this working.

Is this any better than programs like Photmatix or Dynamic Photo HDR? I can see how it'd be neat to do it from within Lightroom, but how are the actual results? Sure wish I could get this working to know.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
waple is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Tools Of the Trade > Image Editing »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Purple images in Lightroom atomic Image Editing 1 02-28-2007 01:30 PM
Blending Exposures diver46 Nikon 8 01-29-2007 12:16 PM