PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
Photo of the Week Photo of the Week

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photo Forum > The Photographer > Computers and Software

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2009   #1
Vicuna
 
aram535's Avatar
 
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 164
aram535 is a name known to all
CamelKarma: 97
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Photosnag.com? What is it?

Has anyone noticed that you get a clear.gif inserted in some comments by people?

For example:

"nice shots, thanks for the shareImage: h.t.t.p.://photosnag.com/img/3322/n09x0302vnsn/clear.gif"

What is photosnag.com and why is it getting inserted into the comments? Obviously it's tracking, but what is the question.

Whois is saying that enom.com is the owner, and that seems to be a domain registration site.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register your free account today and become a member on PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photo Forum, gaining access to posting privileges, contests, free plug-ins and other downloads, unlimited online storage for your photographs, reviews, free marketplace listings, and much more.
aram535 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009   #2
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
Rense's Avatar
 
Location: Arnhem
Posts: 17,960
Rense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armor
CamelKarma: 23797
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: Photosnag.com? What is it?

Yes I have noticed it. I'm tracking it now.
__________________
Rense

[5D][50D][20D][G10][EFS 10-22][Sigma 12-24][Sigma 15][EF 17-40][TSE 24][Sigma 30][EF 50;f/1.4][EF 50;f/1.8][EF 24-105][Tamron 28-75][MP-E65][EF 70-200 f/4][EF 70-300DO][EF 85 f/1.8][EF 100 Macro][Sigma 105][EF 135 f/2.8SF][Tamron 180mm macro][Bigma][Tamron TC1.4x][580EX][420EX (2x)][M24EX][STE-2][for a complete list, click here http://www.raphoto.nl/Gear/index.html][CPS Europe member]
Rense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009   #3
Camel Breath
 
swampler's Avatar
 
Location: Lebanon, TN
Posts: 11,763
swampler strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorswampler strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorswampler strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorswampler strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorswampler strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorswampler strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorswampler strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorswampler strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorswampler strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorswampler strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorswampler strides over the forum like a knight in shining armor
CamelKarma: 18114
Editing OK?: Ask first
Default Re: Photosnag.com? What is it?

Usually a clear gif file is used to prevent people from right clicking an image and saving it to their hard drives. Or, perhaps in this case, to keep people from hot linking to an online image?
__________________
Steve
Middle Tennessee Sports Photos
swampler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009   #4
Vicuna
 
aram535's Avatar
 
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 164
aram535 is a name known to all
CamelKarma: 97
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: Photosnag.com? What is it?

Nah, this is a 1x1 image. I'm 100% sure that its for tracking. What for, and whom is a different story.
aram535 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009   #5
Guanaco
 
Posts: 284
SyCo has a reputation beyond reputeSyCo has a reputation beyond reputeSyCo has a reputation beyond reputeSyCo has a reputation beyond reputeSyCo has a reputation beyond reputeSyCo has a reputation beyond repute
CamelKarma: 698
Default Re: Photosnag.com? What is it?

Here the whois for the doman.

Quote:
WHOIS information for photosnag.com :
[Querying whois.internic.net]
[Redirected to whois.enom.com]
[Querying whois.enom.com]
[whois.enom.com]
=-=-=-=
Visit AboutUs.org for more information about photosnag.com

Registration Service Provided By: Online Marketing Investments
Contact: ceo@omitraffic.com

Domain name: photosnag.com

Registrant Contact:
OMI
OM I ()

Fax:
POBox 224
Oxford, MS 38655
US

Administrative Contact:
OMI
OM I (omitraffic@gmail.com)
+1.6628015828
Fax:
POBox224
Oxford, MS 38655
US

Technical Contact:
OMI
OM I (omitraffic@gmail.com)
+1.6628015828
Fax:
POBox224
Oxford, MS 38655
US

Status: Locked

Name Servers:
ns1.hawkhost.com
ns2.hawkhost.com

Creation date: 17 Jun 2006 20:10:51
Expiration date: 17 Jun 2010 20:10:00
Here's there address
Investing Online, Investing Online Companies at b2bYellowpages.com.
Online Marketing Investments Inc
128 Garden Terrace, Oxford, MS, 38655
(662) 801 -5828
Email: omitraffic@gmail.com
(662) 801-5828
SyCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009   #6
Vicuna
 
aram535's Avatar
 
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 164
aram535 is a name known to all
CamelKarma: 97
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: Photosnag.com? What is it?

Thanks for the whois, and the agency.

It actually looks like the poster was hacked or is using an infected browser.

It's used as "Cookie Stuffing". If you're using a old browser, they can read in your cookies from other sites. It also can be used to force-click ads and such from usually adult oriented websites. I highly suggest the Mods take a look at it and see if they can auto-block them or remove the [ img ] tags from them.

I've added a block to my ABP software so that it auto block them.
aram535 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009   #7
Guanaco
 
Posts: 284
SyCo has a reputation beyond reputeSyCo has a reputation beyond reputeSyCo has a reputation beyond reputeSyCo has a reputation beyond reputeSyCo has a reputation beyond reputeSyCo has a reputation beyond repute
CamelKarma: 698
Default Re: Photosnag.com? What is it?

No problem, it only took a minute. Thanks for the info.
SyCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009   #8
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
Rense's Avatar
 
Location: Arnhem
Posts: 17,960
Rense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorRense strides over the forum like a knight in shining armor
CamelKarma: 23797
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: Photosnag.com? What is it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aram535 View Post
Thanks for the whois, and the agency.

It actually looks like the poster was hacked or is using an infected browser.

It's used as "Cookie Stuffing". If you're using a old browser, they can read in your cookies from other sites. It also can be used to force-click ads and such from usually adult oriented websites. I highly suggest the Mods take a look at it and see if they can auto-block them or remove the [ img ] tags from them.

I've added a block to my ABP software so that it auto block them.
The mods are already looking in to it.

BTW: the best way to get attention of a mod is to report (the original) post by using the red triangle button (report post) on the left of the posting.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register your free account today and become a member on PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photo Forum, gaining access to posting privileges, contests, free plug-ins and other downloads, unlimited online storage for your photographs, reviews, free marketplace listings, and much more.
__________________
Rense

[5D][50D][20D][G10][EFS 10-22][Sigma 12-24][Sigma 15][EF 17-40][TSE 24][Sigma 30][EF 50;f/1.4][EF 50;f/1.8][EF 24-105][Tamron 28-75][MP-E65][EF 70-200 f/4][EF 70-300DO][EF 85 f/1.8][EF 100 Macro][Sigma 105][EF 135 f/2.8SF][Tamron 180mm macro][Bigma][Tamron TC1.4x][580EX][420EX (2x)][M24EX][STE-2][for a complete list, click here http://www.raphoto.nl/Gear/index.html][CPS Europe member]
Rense is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photo Forum > The Photographer > Computers and Software »


Bookmarks
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On