1.4x for 70-300 ??
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
Photos of the Week Photos of the Week
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Canon

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2018   #1
Alpaca
 
Posts: 19
CamelKarma: 19891
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Question 1.4x for 70-300 ??

I have a 500D and a 70-300 L tele zoom.
I know a canon 1.4x extender won't work with these, but would a sigma 1.4x ?
Has anyone actually put them all together and produced a picture ?

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
brocheste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018   #2
Photocamel Master
 
scoundrel1728's Avatar
 
Location: Oakland, CA, USA
Posts: 9,573
CamelKarma: 1457659
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 1.4x for 70-300 ??

I doubt it. The problem you ran into - a 1-stop reduction in the effective f-stop - is common to all 1.4x behind-the-lens teleconverters and even more so with 2x versions, where the reduction is 2 stops.
scoundrel1728 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018   #3
Alpaca
 
Posts: 19
CamelKarma: 19891
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 1.4x for 70-300 ??

The problem was not the 1 stop reduction, but a physical limitation, where the rear element of the lens actually fouled against the front element of the extender. I had been warned of this with the Canon extender, but wondered if the Sigma might be constructed slightly differently.
brocheste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018   #4
Photocamel Master
 
scoundrel1728's Avatar
 
Location: Oakland, CA, USA
Posts: 9,573
CamelKarma: 1457659
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 1.4x for 70-300 ??

If you are talking about a cheap 70-300 mm zoom, results are likely to be so inferior with any teleconverter that you would be better off from an image quality standpoint if you cropped your image to simulate the longer focal length instead. This is even aside from autofocus or mechanical interference questions or, if an adapter is involved, infinity focus questions. Teleconverters are intended to be used with long focal length high-quality prime, i.e., non-zoom, lenses, though some high-quality zoom lenses also work well with teleconverters.
scoundrel1728 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018   #5
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Photocamel Master
 
Max@Home's Avatar
 
Location: Castricum, The Netherlands
Posts: 9,079
CamelKarma: 690429
Editing OK?: Yes
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 1.4x for 70-300 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by brocheste View Post
The problem was not the 1 stop reduction, but a physical limitation, where the rear element of the lens actually fouled against the front element of the extender. I had been warned of this with the Canon extender, but wondered if the Sigma might be constructed slightly differently.
Thye physical limitation prevents you to zoom in the 70-300 but if you are only interested in the outer limit (the 300 x 1.4 part), that works with the Canon 1.4x, and is quite sharp too.

...0.02...

Max@Home


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
...so far, so good...

Canon PowerShot G1X MkII, Canon PowerShot G3X, some accessories (hoods, flashes, filters, tripod) and some knowledge to use them
Max@Home is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Canon »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes