7DmkII odd behaviour
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
Photos of the Week Photos of the Week
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Canon

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2017   #1
Photocamel Master
 
Bill in Texas's Avatar
 
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 7,272
CamelKarma: 7247871
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default 7DmkII odd behaviour

When I shoot for a day, my first shots (8-12) are jpeg and then change to RAW on my SD card and the opposite on my CF card. Anyone have this happen? I shoot RAW to the SD card or it's suppose to. Any ideas?

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
https://billmorris.smugmug.com/

Canon gear
Bill in Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2017   #2
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
Frogstar's Avatar
 
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 20,351
CamelKarma: 42482292
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 7DmkII odd behaviour

Never seen it Bill. I would change both cards and see if it still happens.
__________________
Kevin

www.kevinagar.co.uk

My flickr site

My Photobucket Galleries


Bird Life List 1113
Bird Photographed Life List 901
Canon 7DMkII, 7D, 500L F4.0, 100-400L, 1.4 Extender, Speedlite 430EXII
Frogstar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017   #3
Photocamel Master
 
Bill in Texas's Avatar
 
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 7,272
CamelKarma: 7247871
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 7DmkII odd behaviour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogstar View Post
Never seen it Bill. I would change both cards and see if it still happens.
It is a head scratcher. I had thought about changing the cards out and I will. I also wonder why I do jpeg on one card instead of doing RAW on both.
__________________
https://billmorris.smugmug.com/

Canon gear
Bill in Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017   #4
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
Frogstar's Avatar
 
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 20,351
CamelKarma: 42482292
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 7DmkII odd behaviour

I shoot only RAW and to the CF card which is a Kingston 16Gb 600x. When this is full I will either copy them to the 64Gb SD card and delete the 16Gb CF card or just let the camera swap to the SD card when the CF is full. I prefer the 1st method if I have time as the CF card is a lot faster than the SD card and a lot better for bursts.
__________________
Kevin

www.kevinagar.co.uk

My flickr site

My Photobucket Galleries


Bird Life List 1113
Bird Photographed Life List 901
Canon 7DMkII, 7D, 500L F4.0, 100-400L, 1.4 Extender, Speedlite 430EXII
Frogstar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017   #5
Guanaco
 
Gregw's Avatar
 
Location: Santa Monica California
Posts: 447
CamelKarma: 527624
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 7DmkII odd behaviour

I've never seen this, but in my brain it seems the problem is upstream of the cards. The cards just store the information the camera sends them. Is there a factory reset button on your camera? I would try that, then think about a firmware update. Just my thoughts.
Gregw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017   #6
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Camel Breath
 
Mark Lattimer-Hedley's Avatar
 
Location: Portsmouth UK
Posts: 11,178
CamelKarma: 57452017
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 7DmkII odd behaviour

Never heard of this before buddy, Has a quick google come up with anything ?
__________________
My Flickr

One photo out of focus is a mistake, ten photos out of focus are an experimentation, one hundred photos out of focus are a style.
-Mark-

Gear- - Canon 7d mk2 - Sigma 150-600 DG OS HSM C - Sigma 17-50 F2.8 EX DG OS HSM - Sigma 10-20 F3.5 EX DC HSM - SIGMA 70 F2.8 EX DG Macro - Canon EF-S 24mm F2.8 STM - Manfrotto Tripod and Monopod - Sigma TC1401 - Sigma 580 EX II - Yongnuo YN14EX Macro Flash - Lee Filter system - Lowepro Trekker AW II.
Mark Lattimer-Hedley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2017   #7
Photocamel Master
 
Bill in Texas's Avatar
 
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 7,272
CamelKarma: 7247871
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 7DmkII odd behaviour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogstar View Post
I shoot only RAW and to the CF card which is a Kingston 16Gb 600x. When this is full I will either copy them to the 64Gb SD card and delete the 16Gb CF card or just let the camera swap to the SD card when the CF is full. I prefer the 1st method if I have time as the CF card is a lot faster than the SD card and a lot better for bursts.
I may have to look into this method.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregw View Post
I've never seen this, but in my brain it seems the problem is upstream of the cards. The cards just store the information the camera sends them. Is there a factory reset button on your camera? I would try that, then think about a firmware update. Just my thoughts.
What you're saying makes sense. I believe there is a reset to defaults in the menus but I'm not ready to go there just yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Lattimer-Hedley View Post
Never heard of this before buddy, Has a quick google come up with anything ?
I haven't tried to google Mark. Will have to if I can figure out the exact wording to use.
__________________
https://billmorris.smugmug.com/

Canon gear
Bill in Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2017   #8
Photocamel Master
 
Bill in Texas's Avatar
 
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 7,272
CamelKarma: 7247871
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 7DmkII odd behaviour

Update: I decided to set both cards to RAW. The SD switched back and forth between Raw and Jpeg and the CF card recorded all RAW. I have put two newer cards in the camera and will try it tomorrow.
__________________
https://billmorris.smugmug.com/

Canon gear
Bill in Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017   #9
Photocamel Master
 
Bill in Texas's Avatar
 
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 7,272
CamelKarma: 7247871
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 7DmkII odd behaviour

Looks like it's the camera. I changed the cards and sat outside this morning and took 87 shots. After about 20 or so the format switched from RAW to jpeg on the SD card. The CF card was all RAW.

Would it do any good to call and talk to Canon or will they just tell me to send it in?
__________________
https://billmorris.smugmug.com/

Canon gear
Bill in Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017   #10
Camel Breath
 
swampler's Avatar
 
Location: Lebanon, TN
Posts: 17,583
CamelKarma: 3136915
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Re: 7DmkII odd behaviour

Are you using the custom modes, ie. C1, C2, and/or C3? Maybe you have jpg stored in one of those modes and RAW in others?


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
Steve
swampler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Canon »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes