Canon t1i help
PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
Photos of the Week Photos of the Week

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Canon

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2012   #1
Alpaca

CamelKarma: 10
Editing OK?: Ask First
Constructive Critique?: Yes
Default Canon t1i help

im new to using canon t1i could someone give me step by step instructions on how to
take HDR photo i dont know what setting to do please help if you can any help would be great thanks.

Old 02-01-2012   #2
F1 Camel

CamelKarma: 783595
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: Canon t1i help

You're starting the hdr hole early! Here's step by step instructions. Progressing to successive numbers depends on you fully understanding the previous.
  1. Learn how many bits of accuracy your sensor has and how much noise you can expect. Shooting raw will record 16 bits, but the sensor isn't nearly that accurate.
  2. Learn a few things about photography and composition. Tricks will not save a crappy composition.
  3. Figure out what actual the purpose of HDR is, and why it exists.
  4. Figure out if you mind having the middle tones compressed or duplicated.
  5. Figure out if you're happy to have the middle tones in different colors instead of compressed.
  6. Ask yourself if you really want HDR, or if you just want neon tonemapping.
  7. Ask yourself if using a flash might work better (e.g. real estate photography).
If you just want interesting tonemapping, buy the Topaz Adjust plugin and shoot in raw. Ignore the rest of this post. Topaz Adjust rocks, and can really help some images... it can also ruin them.

If you really do understand all the above, then
  1. Get a good tripod and mount your camera on it. Your camera should be as solid as a rock to a slight push from any direction. IT CANNOT MOVE.